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Executive Summary and Origin 
In 2018 the Legislature passed Senate Bill 1391 (Lara; Stats. 2018, ch. 1012), which amended 
Welfare and Institutions Code section 707 to provide that a minor must be at least 16 years of 
age to be considered for transfer of jurisdiction to criminal court unless the individual for whom 
transfer is sought was 14 or 15 at the time of the offense, the offense is listed in section 707(b), 
and the individual was not apprehended until after the end of juvenile court jurisdiction. The 
Judicial Council took action to implement these age-related changes in the jurisdiction of the 
juvenile court in 2019, but revoked that action when a split of authority within the California 
Courts of Appeal arose as to whether these changes were enacted in a constitutional manner. 
That split was resolved by the California Supreme Court in 2021 in favor of the constitutionality 
of the legislation. Additionally, legislation was enacted in 2021 to provide an expedited review 
on the merits from an order granting a motion to transfer. The Appellate Advisory Committee 
and the Family and Juvenile Law Advisory Committee propose adopting a new rule of court, 
amending several other rules, and revising two forms pertaining to the transfer-of-jurisdiction 
process and juvenile appeals to reflect both legislative changes to the transfer statutes. 
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Background 
On November 8, 2016, the people of the State of California enacted Proposition 57, the Public 
Safety and Rehabilitation Act of 2016, effective November 9, 2016. Proposition 57 amended 
existing law to require that the juvenile court consider a motion by the district attorney or other 
appropriate prosecuting officer to transfer the minor to the jurisdiction of the criminal court 
before a juvenile can be prosecuted in a criminal court. To that end, the proposition repealed 
Welfare and Institutions Code section 602(b),1 which had provided that certain serious and 
violent felonies were to be prosecuted in criminal court, as well as section 707(d), which had 
authorized the district attorney to directly file an accusatory pleading involving certain minors in 
criminal court. In addition, the proposition eliminated a set of presumptions that applied in 
determining whether a case should be transferred and instead provided the court with broad 
discretion to determine whether the minor should be transferred to a court of criminal 
jurisdiction, taking into account numerous factors and criteria. 

SB 1391 further amended these provisions to limit the transfer of cases involving 14 and 15 year 
olds to those in which the alleged offender is not apprehended until after reaching adulthood and 
the offense is one listed in section 707(b). On February 25, 2021, the California Supreme Court 
resolved a split of opinion within the Courts of Appeal and upheld the constitutionality of SB 
1391 in O.G. v. Superior Court, 11 Cal.5th 82, making clear that the legislation’s age limitations 
on transfer of youth to criminal court jurisdiction were permissible amendments to Proposition 
57. 

In 2021, the Legislature enacted section 801 to provide a right to an immediate appeal for youth 
subject to an order for transfer of jurisdiction from juvenile court to criminal court provided that 
the notice of appeal is filed within 30 days of the transfer order.2 That legislation requires the 
council to adopt rules of court to ensure that the youth is advised of their appellate rights, the 
record is promptly prepared and transmitted after a notice of appeal is filed, and adequate time 
requirements allow counsel and court personnel to comply with the objectives of the section. 
Subdivision (e) of section 801 states: “It is the intent of the Legislature that this section provides 
for an expedited review on the merits by the appellate court of an order transferring the minor 
from the juvenile court to a court of criminal jurisdiction.” 

Prior Circulation 
The Family and Juvenile Law Advisory Committee circulated a proposal for comment in 2019 to 
implement the provisions of SB 1391. The Judicial Council adopted a revised version of that 
proposal on September 24, 2019, with an effective date of January 2, 2020. The council then 
revoked that action on November 25, 2019, after the Court of Appeal, Second Appellate District, 
filed an opinion on September 30, 2019, finding that the provisions of SB 1391 were not 
consistent with the voters’ intent in enacting Proposition 57 and thus holding that the 

 
1 All further statutory references are to the Welfare and Institutions Code unless otherwise specified. 
2 Assem. Bill 624 (Bauer-Kahan; Stats. 2021, ch. 195). 
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amendments to section 707 were an unconstitutional exercise of legislative authority.3 The 
proposal circulated here includes the changes approved by the council in 2019 with minor style 
revisions, as well as changes to implement section 801, the new appellate provisions on transfer. 

The Proposal 
To implement the new jurisdictional provisions of SB 1391, the transfer rules and form would be 
modified. To implement the appellate provisions of section 801, the committees propose 
adopting new rule 8.417 and amending rule 5.770 and several appellate rules. 

Transfer rules 5.766, 5.768, and 5.770 
The current rules of court governing the process for transfer of jurisdiction from juvenile court to 
criminal court provide that transfer can occur when the subject of the petition was 14 or 15 years 
old at the time the petition alleges they committed an offense listed in section 707(b) or is 16 
years of age or older and is alleged to have committed a felony. These rules would be amended 
to provide that a transfer petition may be considered for an individual who was 14 or 15 years of 
age at the time of the offense and was not apprehended until after the end of juvenile court 
jurisdiction. The proposal also includes new language in rule 5.770(b) to incorporate the holding 
in C.S. v. Superior Court, 29 Cal.App.5th 1009 (2018) that a trial court judge considering a 
motion to transfer must make detailed findings and fully explain its reasoning for granting or 
denying the motion. In addition, the legislative changes to section 707 require that code 
references in the rules be updated to reflect the new structure of the statute. 

 Finally, all three rules are proposed to be amended to use the term “youth” instead of “child,” 
consistent with rule 5.502(46). 

Transfer order form JV-710 
Order to Transfer Juvenile to Criminal Court Jurisdiction (form JV-710), for optional use, 
would be revised to update item 3 to include the limitation on transferring individuals who were 
age 14 or 15 at the time of the offense to those who were apprehended after the end of juvenile 
court jurisdiction. Item 4 would be updated to renumber the statutory reference from 707(a)(2) to 
707(a)(3), consistent with the changes enacted by SB 1391. In addition, the form is proposed to 
be revised to use the term “youth” instead of “child.” 

Amendments to rule 5.770 to implement new appellate rights 
Section 801 provides youth subject to an order transferring jurisdiction with the right to an 
immediate appeal if a notice of appeal is filed within 30 days of the transfer order and requires 
that the juvenile court grant a stay of the criminal court proceedings upon request of the youth if 
an appeal is filed. In addition, it requires the court to advise the youth of their appellate rights, 
the steps and time for taking an appeal, and the right to appointed counsel. Finally, it requires 
that the court prepare the record and transmit it to the Court of Appeal in a timely manner so that 

 
3 O.G. v. Superior Court (2019) 40 Cal.App.5th 626.  
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the appeal can be heard expeditiously. The committees propose amending rule 5.770 to reflect 
these new requirements and provisions. 

Juvenile Notice of Appeal Form (JV-800)  
Notice of Appeal – Juvenile (form JV-800), for optional use, would be revised to allow it to be 
used for the appeal of orders transferring jurisdiction from the juvenile court to the criminal 
court. To accomplish this the form includes a new notice alerting appellants that they must file 
within 30 days of the order, as well as a new item 7(h) to indicate that the appeal is from a 
transfer order under section 707. The form was also revised to delete a generic other checkbox, 
and to convert the item for “other appealable orders relating to wardship,” to “other appealable 
orders relating to delinquency”. Because the form already has an item for “other appealable 
orders relating to dependency,” it should, as proposed, be usable for all appealable juvenile 
matters without requiring a nonspecific “other” item. 
 
Appellate rules 

New rule 8.417 
To ensure that appeals from transfer orders are resolved expeditiously, the committees propose a 
new rule that would govern these proceedings. New rule 8.417 is modeled on rule 8.416, the rule 
governing fast-track dependency appeals. The new rule would require that the cover of the 
record on appeal be labeled to identify the appeal as entitled to preference and would specify the 
items to be included in the record. (Rule 8.417(b), (c).) Subdivision (d) would require the record 
to be prepared within 20 days and sent immediately. The rule would also contain requirements 
for augmenting and correcting the record, the time to file briefs, the showing a party must make 
to support a request for an extension of time, and the length of the grace period following a 
notice of failure to file a brief. (Rule 8.417(e), (f), (g), (h).) Finally, the rule would provide time 
periods for requesting and holding oral argument and submission if argument is waived. 

Amended rules 8.50, 8.60, 8.63, 8.404, 8.406, 8.409, and 8.412 
Section 801 provides for an appeal from an order granting transfer if the notice of appeal is filed 
within 30 days. This is different from the normal time of 60 days in juvenile appeals. Rule 8.406 
would be amended to add the 30-day time limit for filing a notice of appeal from a transfer order. 
The proposed amendments specify when the 30-day time begins to run if the matter is heard by a 
referee not acting as a temporary judge and if an application for rehearing of an order of a referee 
not acting as a temporary judge is denied. The committees would like comments on whether 
these matters are heard by referees and whether rule 8.406(a)(4) should include these provisions. 

The committees also propose adding an advisory committee comment to rule 8.404. The rule 
provides: “The court must not stay an order or judgment pending an appeal unless suitable 
provision is made for the maintenance, care, and custody of the child.” For clarification and to 
avoid any confusion with the rules in title 5, a new comment would read: “This rule does not 
apply to a court’s order under rule 5.770(e)(2) staying the criminal court proceedings during the 
pendency of an appeal of an order transferring the minor from juvenile court to a court of 



 

5 

criminal jurisdiction.” The committees would appreciate feedback on this proposed addition to 
the advisory committee comment to this rule. 

The other rules included in this proposal, rules 8.50, 8.60, 8.63, 8.409, and 8.412, would be 
amended to add cross-references to new rule 8.417 to the text of the rule or to the advisory 
committee comments and to make minor style and punctuation changes. 

Alternatives Considered 
The Family and Juvenile Law Advisory Committee considered moving the prior transfer 
proposal forward without recirculating it for comment, but determined that it would be 
preferable, in light of new section 801, to amend these rules once and at the same time update the 
rules in title 5 to use the term “youth,” consistent with the committee’s current practice.  

The Appellate Advisory Committee considered a narrow approach that would have involved 
amending only the rule regarding the time for filing a notice of appeal, rule 8.406. The 
committee concluded that a broader approach, including a new rule with expedited timing at 
several steps of the appeal, would better reflect the legislative intent that these appeals be 
determined as soon as reasonably practicable after the notice of appeal is filed.  

The committees did not consider the alternative of proposing no rule amendments because 
section 801 creates a new right of appeal and requires the Judicial Council to adopt 
implementing rules. 

Fiscal and Operational Impacts 
The restrictions on transfers to criminal court for juvenile offenders ages 14 and 15 will result in 
the filing of fewer transfer petitions for these youth and, thus, fewer hearings on those petitions. 
These impacts are the result of legislative changes. Similarly, the new appellate rights in section 
801 will likely result in more appeals being filed in the Courts of Appeal, also the result of the 
legislative change rather than the provisions of this proposal. 
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Request for Specific Comments 
In addition to comments on the proposal as a whole, the advisory committees are interested in 
comments on the following: 

• Does the proposal appropriately address the stated purpose? 
• Is the new advisory committee comment to rule 8.404 regarding stays helpful? 
• Does proposed new rule 8.417(c) appropriately specify the items to be included in the 

record on appeal?  
• Do juvenile referees hear transfer motions in a capacity other than as a temporary 

judge such that the rules need to include timing for review of their orders by a superior 
court judge, or can those provisions be removed from the rules? (See rules 5.770(g) 
and 8.406(a).) 

 
The advisory committees also seek comments from courts on the following cost and 
implementation matters: 

• Would the proposal provide cost savings? If so, please quantify. 
• What would the implementation requirements be for courts—for example, training 

staff (please identify position and expected hours of training), revising processes and 
procedures (please describe), changing docket codes in case management systems, or 
modifying case management systems? 

• Would three months from Judicial Council approval of this proposal until its effective 
date provide sufficient time for implementation? 

• How well would this proposal work in courts of different sizes? 
 

 
Attachments and Links 
1. Cal. Rules of Court, rules 5.766, 5.768, 5.770, 8.50, 8.60, 8.63, 8.404, 8.406, 8.409, 8.412, 

and 8.417, at pages 7–18 
2. Forms JV-710 and JV-800 at pages 19-21 
3. Link A: Senate Bill 1391, 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201720180SB1391 
4. Link B: Assembly Bill 624, 

https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=202120220AB624 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201720180SB1391
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=202120220AB624


Rule 8.417 of the California Rules of Court would be adopted, and rules 5.766, 5.768, 5.770, 
8.50, 8.60, 8.63, 8.404, 8.406, 8.409, and 8.412 would be amended, effective January 1, 2023, to 
read: 
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Rule 5.766.  General provisions 1 
 2 
(a) Hearing on transfer of jurisdiction to criminal court (§ 707) 3 
 4 

A child youth who is the subject of a petition under section 602 and who was 14 years or 5 
older at the time of the alleged felony offense may be considered for prosecution under the 6 
general law in a court of criminal jurisdiction. The district attorney or other appropriate 7 
prosecuting officer may make a motion to transfer the child youth from juvenile court to a 8 
court of criminal jurisdiction, in one of the following circumstances: 9 

 10 
(1) The child individual was 14 or 15 years or older of age at the time of the alleged 11 

offense listed in section 707(b) and was not apprehended before the end of juvenile 12 
court jurisdiction. 13 

 14 
(2) The child youth was 16 years or older at the time of the alleged felony offense. 15 

 16 
(b) * * * 17 
 18 
(c) Prima facie showing 19 
 20 

On the child youth’s motion, the court must determine whether a prima facie showing has 21 
been made that the offense alleged is an offense that makes the child youth subject to 22 
transfer as set forth in subdivision (a). 23 

 24 
(d) Time of transfer hearing—rules 5.774, 5.776 25 
 26 

The transfer of jurisdiction hearing must be held and the court must rule on the request to 27 
transfer jurisdiction before the jurisdiction hearing begins. Absent a continuance under rule 28 
5.776 or the child youth’s waiver of the statutory time period to commence the jurisdiction 29 
hearing, the jurisdiction hearing must begin within the time limits under rule 5.774. 30 

 31 
 32 
Rule 5.768.  Report of probation officer 33 
 34 
(a) Contents of report (§ 707) 35 
 36 

The probation officer must prepare and submit to the court a report on the behavioral 37 
patterns and social history of the child youth being considered. The report must include 38 
information relevant to the determination of whether the child youth should be retained 39 
under the jurisdiction of the juvenile court or transferred to the jurisdiction of the criminal 40 
court, including information regarding all of the criteria in section 707(a)(2)(3). The report 41 
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must also include any written or oral statement offered by the victim pursuant to section 1 
656.2. 2 

 3 
(b) Recommendation of probation officer (§§ 281, 707) 4 
 5 

If the court, under section 281, orders the probation officer to include a recommendation, 6 
the probation officer must make a recommendation to the court as to whether the child 7 
youth should be retained under the jurisdiction of the juvenile court or transferred to the 8 
jurisdiction of the criminal court. 9 

 10 
(c) Copies furnished 11 
 12 

The probation officer’s report on the behavioral patterns and social history of the child 13 
youth must be furnished to the child youth, the parent or guardian, and all counsel at least 14 
two court days before commencement of the hearing on the motion. A continuance of at 15 
least 24 hours must be granted on the request of any party who has not been furnished the 16 
probation officer’s report in accordance with this rule. 17 

 18 
 19 
Rule 5.770.  Conduct of transfer of jurisdiction hearing under section 707 20 
 21 
(a) * * * 22 
 23 
(b) Criteria to consider (§ 707) 24 
 25 

Following receipt of the probation officer’s report and any other relevant evidence, the 26 
court may order that the child youth be transferred to the jurisdiction of the criminal court 27 
if the court finds: 28 

 29 
(1) The child youth was 16 years or older at the time of any alleged felony offense, or 30 

the child individual was 14 or 15 years of age at the time of an alleged felony offense 31 
listed in section 707(b) and was not apprehended prior to the end of juvenile court 32 
jurisdiction; and 33 

 34 
(2) The child youth should be transferred to the jurisdiction of the criminal court based 35 

on an evaluation of all the criteria in section 707(a)(2)(3) as provided in that section. 36 
The court must state on the record the basis for its decision, detailing how it weighed 37 
the evidence and identifying the specific factors on which the court relied to reach its 38 
decision. 39 

 40 
(c) * * * 41 
 42 
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(d) Procedure following findings 1 
 2 

(1) If the court finds the child youth should be retained within the jurisdiction of the 3 
juvenile court, the court must proceed to jurisdiction hearing under rule 5.774. 4 

 5 
(2) If the court finds the child youth should be transferred to the jurisdiction of the 6 

criminal court, the court must make orders under section 707.1 relating to bail and to 7 
the appropriate facility for the custody of the child youth, or release on own 8 
recognizance pending prosecution. The court must set a date for the child youth to 9 
appear in criminal court and dismiss the petition without prejudice upon the date of 10 
that appearance. 11 

 12 
(3) When the court rules on the request to transfer the child youth to the jurisdiction of 13 

the criminal court, the court must advise all parties present that regarding appellate 14 
review of the order must be by petition for extraordinary writ as provided in 15 
subdivision (g) of this rule. The advisement may be given orally or in writing when 16 
the court makes the ruling. The advisement must include the time for filing the notice 17 
of appeal or the petition for extraordinary writ as set forth in subdivision (g) of this 18 
rule. The court must advise the youth of the right to appeal, of the necessary steps 19 
and time for taking an appeal, and of the right to the appointment of counsel if the 20 
youth is unable to retain counsel. 21 

 22 
(e) Continuance to seek or stay pending review 23 
 24 

(1) If the prosecuting attorney informs the court orally or in writing that a review of the 25 
court’s decision not to transfer jurisdiction to the criminal court will be sought and 26 
requests a continuance of the jurisdiction hearing, the court must grant a continuance 27 
for not less than two judicial days to allow time within which to obtain a stay of 28 
further proceedings from the reviewing judge or appellate court. 29 

 30 
(2) If the youth informs the court orally or in writing that a notice of appeal of the 31 

court’s decision to transfer jurisdiction to the criminal court will be filed and requests 32 
a stay, the court must issue a stay of the criminal court proceedings until a final 33 
determination of the appeal. The court retains jurisdiction to modify or lift the stay 34 
upon request of the youth. 35 

 36 
(f) Subsequent role of judicial officer 37 
 38 

Unless the child youth objects, the judicial officer who has conducted a hearing on a 39 
motion to transfer jurisdiction may participate in any subsequent contested jurisdiction 40 
hearing relating to the same offense. 41 

 42 
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(g) Review of determination on a motion to transfer jurisdiction to criminal court 1 
 2 

(1) An order granting a motion to transfer jurisdiction of a youth to the criminal court is 3 
an appealable order subject to immediate review. A notice of appeal must be filed 4 
within 30 days of the order transferring jurisdiction or 30 days after the referee’s 5 
order becomes final under rule 5.540(c) or after the denial of an application for 6 
rehearing of the referee’s decision to transfer jurisdiction of the youth to the criminal 7 
court. If a notice of appeal is timely filed, the court must prepare and submit the 8 
record to the Court of Appeal within 20 days.  9 

 10 
(2) An order granting or denying a motion to transfer jurisdiction of a child youth to the 11 

criminal court is not an appealable order. Appellate review of the order is by petition 12 
for extraordinary writ. Any petition for review of a judge’s order denying a motion to 13 
transfer jurisdiction of the child to the criminal court, or denying an application for 14 
rehearing of the referee’s determination not to transfer jurisdiction of the child to the 15 
criminal court, must be filed no later than 20 days after the child’s first arraignment 16 
on an accusatory pleading based on the allegations that led to the transfer of 17 
jurisdiction order the judge’s order is entered, or the referee’s order becomes final 18 
under rule 5.540(c). 19 

 20 
(h) *** 21 
 22 
 23 
Rule 8.50.  Applications  24 
 25 
(a) * * * 26 
 27 
(b) Contents 28 
 29 

The application must state facts showing good cause–—or making an exceptional showing 30 
of good cause, when required by these rules–—for granting the application and must 31 
identify any previous application filed by any party.  32 

 33 
(c) * * * 34 
 35 

Advisory Committee Comment  36 
 37 
Subdivision (a). * * * 38 
 39 
Subdivision (b). An exceptional showing of good cause is required in applications in certain juvenile 40 
proceedings under rules 8.416, 8.417, 8.450, 8.452, and 8.454. 41 
 42 
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Rule 8.60.  Extending time 1 
 2 
(a) * * * 3 
 4 
(b) Extending time 5 
 6 

Except as these rules provide otherwise, for good cause–—or on an exceptional showing of 7 
good cause, when required by these rules–—the Chief Justice or presiding justice may 8 
extend the time to do any act required or permitted under these rules. 9 

 10 
(c) Application for extension 11 
 12 

(1) * * * 13 
 14 

(2) The application must state: 15 
 16 

(A)–(C) * * * 17 
 18 

(D) Good cause–—or an exceptional showing of good cause, when required by 19 
these rules–—for granting the extension, consistent with the factors in rule 20 
8.63(b). 21 

 22 
(d)–(f) * * * 23 
 24 

Advisory Committee Comment  25 
 26 
Subdivisions (b) and (c):. An exceptional showing of good cause is required in applications in certain 27 
juvenile proceedings under rules 8.416, 8.417, 8.450, 8.452, and 8.454. 28 
 29 
 30 
Rule 8.63.  Policies and factors governing extensions of time  31 
 32 
(a) Policies 33 
 34 

(1) The time limits prescribed by these rules should generally be met to ensure 35 
expeditious conduct of appellate business and public confidence in the efficient 36 
administration of appellate justice. 37 

 38 
(2) The effective assistance of counsel to which a party is entitled includes adequate 39 

time for counsel to prepare briefs or other documents that fully advance the party’s 40 
interests. Adequate time also allows the preparation of accurate, clear, concise, and 41 
complete submissions that assist the courts. 42 

 43 
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(3) For a variety of legitimate reasons, counsel may not always be able to prepare briefs 1 
or other documents within the time specified in the rules of court. To balance the 2 
competing policies stated in (1) and (2), applications to extend time in the reviewing 3 
courts must demonstrate good cause–—or an exceptional showing of good cause, 4 
when required by these rules––under (b). If good cause is shown, the court must 5 
extend the time.  6 

 7 
(b) Factors considered 8 
 9 

In determining good cause–—or an exceptional showing of good cause when required by 10 
these rules–—the court must consider the following factors when applicable: 11 

 12 
(1)–(11) * * * 13 

 14 
Advisory Committee Comment  15 

 16 
An exceptional showing of good cause is required in applications in certain juvenile proceedings under 17 
rules 8.416, 8.417, 8.450, 8.452, and 8.454. 18 
 19 
 20 
Rule 8.404.  Stay pending appeal 21 
 22 
The court must not stay an order or judgment pending an appeal unless suitable provision is 23 
made for the maintenance, care, and custody of the child. 24 
 25 

Advisory Committee Comment  26 
 27 
This rule does not apply to a court’s order under rule 5.770(e)(2) staying the criminal court proceedings 28 
during the pendency of an appeal of an order transferring the minor from juvenile court to a court of 29 
criminal jurisdiction. 30 
 31 
Rule 8.406.  Time to appeal 32 
 33 
(a) Normal time 34 
 35 

(1)  Except as provided in (2) and, (3), and (4), a notice of appeal must be filed within 60 36 
days after the rendition of the judgment or the making of the order being appealed.  37 

 38 
(2) In matters heard by a referee not acting as a temporary judge, a notice of appeal must 39 

be filed within 60 days after the referee’s order becomes final under rule 5.540(c).  40 
 41 

(3) When an application for rehearing of an order of a referee not acting as a temporary 42 
judge is denied under rule 5.542, a notice of appeal from the referee’s order must be 43 
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filed within 60 days after that order is served under rule 5.538(b)(3) or 30 days after 1 
entry of the order denying rehearing, whichever is later.  2 

 3 
(4)  To appeal from an order transferring a minor to a court of criminal jurisdiction: 4 

 5 
(A) Except as provided in (B) and (C), a notice of appeal must be filed within 30 6 

days of the making of the order.  7 
 8 

(B) If the matter is heard by a referee not acting as a temporary judge, a notice of 9 
appeal must be filed within 30 days after the referee’s order becomes final 10 
under rule 5.540(c).  11 

 12 
(C) When an application for rehearing of an order of a referee not acting as a 13 

temporary judge is denied under rule 5.542, a notice of appeal from the 14 
referee’s order must be filed within 30 days after entry of the order denying 15 
rehearing.   16 

 17 
(b)–(d) * * * 18 
 19 
Rule 8.409.  Preparing and sending the record 20 
 21 
(a) Application 22 
 23 

This rule applies to appeals in juvenile cases except cases governed by rules 8.416 and 24 
8.417. 25 

 26 
(b) * * * 27 
 28 
(c) Preparing and certifying the transcripts 29 
 30 

Except in cases governed by rule 8.417, within 20 days after the notice of appeal is filed: 31 
 32 

(1) The clerk must prepare and certify as correct an original of the clerk’s transcript and 33 
one copy each for the appellant, the respondent, the child’s Indian tribe if the tribe 34 
has intervened, and the child if the child is represented by counsel on appeal or if a 35 
recommendation has been made to the Court of Appeal for appointment of counsel 36 
for the child under rule 8.403(b)(2) and that recommendation is either pending with 37 
or has been approved by the Court of Appeal but counsel has not yet been appointed; 38 
and 39 

 40 
(2) The reporter must prepare, certify as correct, and deliver to the clerk an original of 41 

the reporter’s transcript and the same number of copies as (1) requires of the clerk’s 42 
transcript. 43 
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 1 
(d)–(e)  * * * 2 
 3 

Advisory Committee Comment 4 
 5 
Subdivision (a). Subdivision (a) calls litigants’ attention to the fact that a different rules (rule 8.416) 6 
governs the record in appeals from judgments or orders terminating parental rights and in dependency 7 
appeals in certain counties (rule 8.416), and in appeals from orders granting a motion to transfer a minor 8 
from juvenile court to a court of criminal jurisdiction (rule 8.417).  9 
 10 
Subdivision (b). * * * 11 
 12 
Subdivision (c). Subdivision (c) calls litigants’ attention to the fact that a different rule (rule 8.417) 13 
governs the record in appeals from orders granting a motion to transfer a minor from juvenile court to a 14 
court of criminal jurisdiction.  15 
 16 
Subdivision (e). * * * 17 
 18 
 19 
Rule 8.412.  Briefs by parties and amici curiae 20 
 21 
(a) * * * 22 
 23 
(b) Time to file 24 
 25 

(1) Except in appeals governed by rules 8.416 and 8.417, the appellant must serve and 26 
file the appellant’s opening brief within 40 days after the record is filed in the 27 
reviewing court. 28 

 29 
(2) The respondent must serve and file the respondent’s brief within 30 days after the 30 

appellant’s opening brief is filed. 31 
 32 

(3) The appellant must serve and file any reply brief within 20 days after the 33 
respondent’s brief is filed. 34 

 35 
(4) In dependency cases in which the child is not an appellant but has appellate counsel, 36 

the child must serve and file any brief within 10 days after the respondent’s brief is 37 
filed. 38 

 39 
(5) Rule 8.220 applies if a party fails to timely file an appellant’s opening brief or a 40 

respondent’s brief, but the period specified in the notice required by that rule must be 41 
30 days. 42 

 43 
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(c) Extensions of time 1 
 2 

The superior court may not order any extensions of time to file briefs. Except in appeals 3 
governed by rules 8.416 and 8.417, the reviewing court may order extensions of time for 4 
good cause. 5 

 6 
(d) Failure to file a brief 7 
 8 

(1) Except in appeals governed by rules 8.416 and 8.417, if a party fails to timely file an 9 
appellant’s opening brief or a respondent’s brief, the reviewing court clerk must 10 
promptly notify the party’s counsel or the party, if not represented, in writing that the 11 
brief must be filed within 30 days after the notice is sent and that failure to comply 12 
may result in one of the following sanctions: 13 

 14 
(A)–(B) * * * 15 

 16 
(2)–(3) * * *  17 

 18 
(e) * * * 19 
 20 

Advisory Committee Comment  21 
 22 
Subdivision (b). Subdivision (b)(1) calls litigants’ attention to the fact that a different rules (rule 23 
8.416(e)) governs the time to file an appellant’s opening brief in appeals from judgments or orders 24 
terminating parental rights and in dependency appeals in certain counties (rule 8.416(e)), and in appeals 25 
from orders granting a motion to transfer a minor from juvenile court to a court of criminal jurisdiction 26 
(rule 8.417(f)). 27 
 28 
Subdivision (c). Subdivision (c) calls litigants’ attention to the fact that a different rules (rule 8.416(f)) 29 
governs the showing required for extensions of time to file briefs in appeals from judgments or orders 30 
terminating parental rights and in dependency appeals in certain counties (rule 8.416(f)), and in appeals 31 
from orders granting a motion to transfer a minor from juvenile court to a court of criminal jurisdiction 32 
(rule 8.417(g)).  33 
 34 
Subdivision (d). Subdivision (d) calls litigants’ attention to the fact that different rules govern the time 35 
period specified in the notice of failure to timely file an appellant’s opening brief or a respondent’s brief 36 
in appeals from judgments or orders terminating parental rights and in dependency appeals in certain 37 
counties (rule 8.416(g)), and in appeals from orders granting a motion to transfer a minor from juvenile 38 
court to a court of criminal jurisdiction (rule 8.417(h)).  39 
 40 
 41 
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Rule 8.417.  Appeals from orders transferring a minor from juvenile court to a court of 1 
criminal jurisdiction 2 

 3 
(a) Application 4 
 5 

This rule governs appeals from orders of the juvenile court granting a motion to transfer a 6 
minor from juvenile court to a court of criminal jurisdiction.  7 

 8 
(b) Form of record 9 
 10 

(1) The clerk’s and reporter’s transcripts must comply with rules 8.45–8.47, relating to 11 
sealed and confidential records, and, except as provided in (2), with rule 8.144. 12 

 13 
(2) The cover of the record must prominently display the title “Appeal from Order 14 

Transferring a Minor from Juvenile Court to a Court of Criminal Jurisdiction Under 15 
Welfare and Institutions Code Section 801.”  16 

 17 
(c) Record on appeal 18 
 19 

(1) In addition to the items listed in rule 8.407(a), the clerk’s transcript must contain: 20 
 21 

(A) Any report by the probation officer on the behavioral patterns and social 22 
history of the minor, including any oral or written statement offered by the 23 
victim under Welfare and Institutions Code section 656.2; 24 

 25 
(B) Any other probation report or document filed with the court on the petition 26 

under Welfare and Institutions Code section 602; and 27 
 28 

(C) Any document in written or electronic form submitted to the court in 29 
connection with the prima facie showing under rule 5.766(c) or the motion to 30 
transfer jurisdiction. 31 

 32 
(2) In addition to the items listed in rule 8.407(b), any reporter’s transcript must contain 33 

the oral proceedings at any hearings on the prima facie showing under rule 5.766(c) 34 
and the motion to transfer jurisdiction. 35 

 36 
(d) Preparing, certifying, and sending the record 37 
 38 

(1) Within 20 court days after the notice of appeal is filed: 39 
 40 

(A) The clerk must prepare and certify as correct an original of the clerk’s 41 
transcript and one copy each for the appellant, the respondent, and the district 42 
appellate project; and 43 
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 1 
(B) The reporter must prepare, certify as correct, and deliver to the clerk an 2 

original of the reporter’s transcript and the same number of copies as (A) 3 
requires of the clerk’s transcript. 4 

 5 
(2) When the clerk’s and reporter’s transcripts are certified as correct, the clerk must 6 

immediately send: 7 
 8 

(A) The original transcripts to the reviewing court by the most expeditious method, 9 
noting the sending date on each original; and 10 

 11 
(B) One copy of each transcript to the district appellate project and to the appellate 12 

counsel for the following, if they have appellate counsel, by any method as fast 13 
as United States Postal Service express mail: 14 

 15 
(i) The appellant; and 16 

 17 
(ii) The respondent. 18 

 19 
(3) If appellate counsel has not yet been retained or appointed for the minor, when the 20 

transcripts are certified as correct, the clerk must send that counsel’s copies of the 21 
transcripts to the district appellate project. 22 

 23 
(e) Augmenting or correcting the record 24 
 25 

(1) Except as provided in (2) and (3), rule 8.410 governs any augmentation or correction 26 
of the record. 27 

 28 
(2) An appellant must serve and file any motion for augmentation or correction within 29 

15 days after receiving the record. A respondent must serve and file any such motion 30 
within 15 days after the appellant’s opening brief is filed.  31 

 32 
(3) The clerk and the reporter must prepare any supplemental transcripts within 20 days, 33 

giving them the highest priority. 34 
 35 

(4) The clerk must certify and send any supplemental transcripts as required by (d). 36 
 37 
(f) Time to file briefs 38 
 39 

(1) The appellant must serve and file the appellant’s opening brief within 30 days after 40 
the record is filed in the reviewing court.  41 

 42 
(2) Rule 8.412(b) governs the time for filing other briefs.  43 
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 1 
(g) Extensions of time 2 
 3 

The superior court may not order any extensions of time to prepare the record or to file 4 
briefs; the reviewing court may order extensions of time but must require an exceptional 5 
showing of good cause. 6 

 7 
(h) Failure to file a brief 8 
 9 

Rule 8.412(d) applies if a party fails to timely file an appellant’s opening brief or a 10 
respondent’s brief, but the period specified in the notice required by that rule must be 15 11 
days. 12 

 13 
(i) Oral argument and submission of the cause 14 
 15 

(1) Unless the reviewing court orders otherwise, counsel must serve and file any request 16 
for oral argument no later than 15 days after the appellant’s reply brief is filed or due 17 
to be filed. Failure to file a timely request will be deemed a waiver. 18 

 19 
(2) The court must hear oral argument within 60 days after the appellant’s last reply 20 

brief is filed or due to be filed, unless the court extends the time for good cause or 21 
counsel waive argument. 22 

 23 
(3) If counsel waive argument, the cause is deemed submitted no later than 60 days after 24 

the appellant’s reply brief is filed or due to be filed. 25 
 26 

Advisory Committee Comment  27 
 28 
Subdivision (d). Under rule 8.71(c), the superior court clerk may send the record to the reviewing court 29 
in electronic form. 30 



The transfer motion is denied. The youth is retained under the jurisdiction of the juvenile court.

for (specify):

b. The individual was 14 or 15 years of age at the time of the alleged offense, the alleged offense is an offense listed in 
Welfare and Institutions Code section 707(b), and the individual was not apprehended before the end of juvenile court 
jurisdiction.
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The court has read and considered the petition and report of the probation officer 

                                           is dismissed without prejudice on the appearance date in (2).

other relevant evidence.

(2)

The youth is to be detained in
(3)

Bail is set in the amount of: 
(4)

The youth is released(6)

The matter is referred to the District Attorney for prosecution under the general law.(1)

The youth was 16 years old or older at the time of the alleged felony offense; or

AFTER CONSIDERING EACH OF THE TRANSFER OF JURISDICTION CRITERIA, THE COURT ALSO FINDS AND ORDERS:4.

a.

b.

a.

3. THE COURT FINDS (check one)
Welfare and Institutions Code section 707

at (time):

 $
juvenile hall county jail (section 207.1).

on own recognizance to the custody  of:

JUDICIAL OFFICER
Date:

The court has considered each of the criteria in section 707(a)(3) and has documented its findings on each of the criteria on the
record, and based on those findings makes the following orders:

The transfer motion is granted. The prosecutor has shown by a preponderance of the evidence that the youth should be 
transferred to the jurisdiction of the criminal court.

(date):

(5)

at (time):
in Department:

Date of hearing:

The next hearing is on (date):

The petition filed on (date):

19

JAguirre
Highlight

JAguirre
Highlight

JAguirre
Highlight

JAguirre
Highlight

JAguirre
Highlight

JAguirre
Highlight

JAguirre
Highlight

JAguirre
Highlight

JAguirre
Highlight

JAguirre
Highlight

JAguirre
Highlight

JAguirre
Highlight

JAguirre
Highlight

JAguirre
Highlight



Appellant (name):

Name, address, and phone number of person to be contacted (if different from appellant):

Form Approved for Optional Use  
Judicial Council of California 
JV-800 [Rev. January 1, 2023]

2.  This appeal is filed by

Page 1 of 2

Cal. Rules of Court, rules 5.770. 8.400, 8.401, 8.405, 8.406 
Welfare and Institutions Code, §§ 395, 800, 801

NOTICE OF APPEAL—JUVENILE

3.  
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For most appeals, you must file a written notice of appeal within 60 days after rendition of the judgment or the making 
of the order being appealed or, in matters heard by a referee, within 60 days after the order of the referee becomes 
final. Read rule 8.406.

•

•

To appeal an order transferring jurisdiction to the criminal court, you must file the notice of appeal within 30 days. 
Read rules 5.770(g) and 8.406(a)(4).

•

To file an appeal of an order for transfer to a tribal court, you (1) may ask the juvenile court to stay (delay the effective 
date of) the transfer order and (2) must file the appeal before the transfer to tribal jurisdiction is finalized. Read rule 
5.483 and the advisory committee comment.

•

If you are not the county welfare department, district attorney, child, child's parent, or child's legal guardian, you may 
have a right to challenge a decision by the juvenile court, but only in very limited circumstances. You may need a court 
order granting you access to records in the juvenile case file. For more information, please see Information on 
Requesting Access to Records for Persons With a Limited Right to Appeal (form JV-291- INFO). You can get form 
JV-291-INFO at any courthouse or county law library or online at www.courts.ca.g/forms.

•

a.

b. c.

d.

I request that the court appoint an attorney on appeal. was was not 
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Date:

TYPE OR PRINT NAME APPELLANT ATTORNEY

I represented by an appointed attorney

1.  I appeal from the findings and orders of the court (specify date of order or describe order):

e. Appellant has been granted access to specified records in the juvenile case file, and a copy of the court's order under 
Welfare and Institutions Code section 827(a)(1)(Q), on Order After Judicial Review on Petition for Access to Juvenile Case 
File (form JV-574), if available, is attached.

Phone number:

www.courts.ca.gov

Items 5–7 on the reverse are completed not completed.4.
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Section 388 (request to change court order)

Appellant is the

f.a.

g.b.

h.c.

i.d.

The order appealed from was made under Welfare and Institutions Code (check all that apply):

b.

Dates of hearing (specify):

c.

f.

g.

h.

i.

d.

This notice of appeal pertains to the following child or children (specify number of children included):

a.

b.

c.

d.

Name of child:
Child's date of birth:

Name of child:
Child's date of birth:

Name of child:
Child's date of birth:

Name of child:
Child's date of birth:

Other appealable orders relating to dependency (specify):

JV-800

CASE NUMBER:CHILD'S NAME:

child.

mother.

father.

legal guardian.

e. de facto parent.

county welfare department.

district attorney.

child's tribe.

other (state relationship to child or interest in the case):

Continued in Attachment 6.

Section 360 (declaration of dependency)  Removal of custody from parent or guardian Other orders
with review of section 300 jurisdictional findings

a. Section 305.5 (transfer to tribal court)   
Granting transfer to tribal court

Section 366.26 (selection and implementation of permanent plan)
Termination of parental rights Appointment of guardian Planned permanent living arrangement

Dates of hearing (specify):

Section 366.28  (order designating a specific placement after termination of parental rights in which a petition for  
extraordinary writ review that substantively addressed the specific issues to be challenged was timely filed and summarily 
denied or otherwise not decided on the merits)

Dates of hearing (specify):

Dates of hearing (specify):

Section 725 (declaration of wardship and other orders)
with review of section 601 jurisdictional findings
with review of section 602 jurisdictional findings

Dates of hearing (specify):

Dates of hearing (specify):

Other appealable orders relating to delinquency (specify):
Dates of hearing (specify):

5.

6.

7.

JV-800 [Rev. January 1, 2023] Page 2 of 2NOTICE OF APPEAL—JUVENILE

e.
Dates of hearing (specify):

Dates of hearing (specify):
Denying transfer to tribal court

Section 707 (order transferring jurisdiction to criminal court)
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	Draft rules juvenile transfertoLSOprecomment
	Rule 5.766.  General provisions
	(a) Hearing on transfer of jurisdiction to criminal court (§ 707)
	A child youth who is the subject of a petition under section 602 and who was 14 years or older at the time of the alleged felony offense may be considered for prosecution under the general law in a court of criminal jurisdiction. The district attorney...
	(1) The child individual was 14 or 15 years or older of age at the time of the alleged offense listed in section 707(b) and was not apprehended before the end of juvenile court jurisdiction.
	(2) The child youth was 16 years or older at the time of the alleged felony offense.


	(b) * * *
	(c) Prima facie showing
	On the child youth’s motion, the court must determine whether a prima facie showing has been made that the offense alleged is an offense that makes the child youth subject to transfer as set forth in subdivision (a).

	(d) Time of transfer hearing—rules 5.774, 5.776
	The transfer of jurisdiction hearing must be held and the court must rule on the request to transfer jurisdiction before the jurisdiction hearing begins. Absent a continuance under rule 5.776 or the child youth’s waiver of the statutory time period to...


	Rule 5.768.  Report of probation officer
	(a) Contents of report (§ 707)
	The probation officer must prepare and submit to the court a report on the behavioral patterns and social history of the child youth being considered. The report must include information relevant to the determination of whether the child youth should ...

	(b) Recommendation of probation officer (§§ 281, 707)
	If the court, under section 281, orders the probation officer to include a recommendation, the probation officer must make a recommendation to the court as to whether the child youth should be retained under the jurisdiction of the juvenile court or t...

	(c) Copies furnished
	The probation officer’s report on the behavioral patterns and social history of the child youth must be furnished to the child youth, the parent or guardian, and all counsel at least two court days before commencement of the hearing on the motion. A c...


	Rule 5.770.  Conduct of transfer of jurisdiction hearing under section 707
	(a) * * *
	(b) Criteria to consider (§ 707)
	Following receipt of the probation officer’s report and any other relevant evidence, the court may order that the child youth be transferred to the jurisdiction of the criminal court if the court finds:
	(1) The child youth was 16 years or older at the time of any alleged felony offense, or the child individual was 14 or 15 years of age at the time of an alleged felony offense listed in section 707(b) and was not apprehended prior to the end of juveni...
	(2) The child youth should be transferred to the jurisdiction of the criminal court based on an evaluation of all the criteria in section 707(a)(2)(3) as provided in that section. The court must state on the record the basis for its decision, detailin...


	(c) * * *
	(d) Procedure following findings
	(1) If the court finds the child youth should be retained within the jurisdiction of the juvenile court, the court must proceed to jurisdiction hearing under rule 5.774.
	(2) If the court finds the child youth should be transferred to the jurisdiction of the criminal court, the court must make orders under section 707.1 relating to bail and to the appropriate facility for the custody of the child youth, or release on o...
	(3) When the court rules on the request to transfer the child youth to the jurisdiction of the criminal court, the court must advise all parties present that regarding appellate review of the order must be by petition for extraordinary writ as provide...

	(e) Continuance to seek or stay pending review
	(1) If the prosecuting attorney informs the court orally or in writing that a review of the court’s decision not to transfer jurisdiction to the criminal court will be sought and requests a continuance of the jurisdiction hearing, the court must grant...
	(2) If the youth informs the court orally or in writing that a notice of appeal of the court’s decision to transfer jurisdiction to the criminal court will be filed and requests a stay, the court must issue a stay of the criminal court proceedings unt...

	(f) Subsequent role of judicial officer
	Unless the child youth objects, the judicial officer who has conducted a hearing on a motion to transfer jurisdiction may participate in any subsequent contested jurisdiction hearing relating to the same offense.

	(g) Review of determination on a motion to transfer jurisdiction to criminal court
	(1) An order granting a motion to transfer jurisdiction of a youth to the criminal court is an appealable order subject to immediate review. A notice of appeal must be filed within 30 days of the order transferring jurisdiction or 30 days after the re...
	(2) An order granting or denying a motion to transfer jurisdiction of a child youth to the criminal court is not an appealable order. Appellate review of the order is by petition for extraordinary writ. Any petition for review of a judge’s order denyi...

	(h) ***

	Rule 8.50.  Applications
	(a) * * *
	(b) Contents
	The application must state facts showing good cause–—or making an exceptional showing of good cause, when required by these rules–—for granting the application and must identify any previous application filed by any party.

	(c) * * *

	Rule 8.60.  Extending time
	(a) * * *
	(b) Extending time
	Except as these rules provide otherwise, for good cause–—or on an exceptional showing of good cause, when required by these rules–—the Chief Justice or presiding justice may extend the time to do any act required or permitted under these rules.

	(c) Application for extension
	(1) * * *
	(2) The application must state:
	(A)–(C) * * *
	(D) Good cause–—or an exceptional showing of good cause, when required by these rules–—for granting the extension, consistent with the factors in rule 8.63(b).


	(d)–(f) * * *

	Rule 8.63.  Policies and factors governing extensions of time
	(a) Policies
	(1) The time limits prescribed by these rules should generally be met to ensure expeditious conduct of appellate business and public confidence in the efficient administration of appellate justice.
	(2) The effective assistance of counsel to which a party is entitled includes adequate time for counsel to prepare briefs or other documents that fully advance the party’s interests. Adequate time also allows the preparation of accurate, clear, concis...
	(3) For a variety of legitimate reasons, counsel may not always be able to prepare briefs or other documents within the time specified in the rules of court. To balance the competing policies stated in (1) and (2), applications to extend time in the r...

	(b) Factors considered
	In determining good cause–—or an exceptional showing of good cause, when required by these rules–—the court must consider the following factors when applicable:
	(1)–(11) * * *



	Rule 8.404.  Stay pending appeal
	The court must not stay an order or judgment pending an appeal unless suitable provision is made for the maintenance, care, and custody of the child.

	Rule 8.406.  Time to appeal
	(a) Normal time
	(1) Except as provided in (2) and, (3), and (4), a notice of appeal must be filed within 60 days after the rendition of the judgment or the making of the order being appealed.
	(2) In matters heard by a referee not acting as a temporary judge, a notice of appeal must be filed within 60 days after the referee’s order becomes final under rule 5.540(c).
	(3) When an application for rehearing of an order of a referee not acting as a temporary judge is denied under rule 5.542, a notice of appeal from the referee’s order must be filed within 60 days after that order is served under rule 5.538(b)(3) or 30...
	(4) To appeal from an order transferring a minor to a court of criminal jurisdiction:
	(A) Except as provided in (B) and (C), a notice of appeal must be filed within 30 days of the making of the order.
	(B) If the matter is heard by a referee not acting as a temporary judge, a notice of appeal must be filed within 30 days after the referee’s order becomes final under rule 5.540(c).
	(C) When an application for rehearing of an order of a referee not acting as a temporary judge is denied under rule 5.542, a notice of appeal from the referee’s order must be filed within 30 days after entry of the order denying rehearing.


	(b)–(d) * * *

	Rule 8.409.  Preparing and sending the record
	(a) Application
	This rule applies to appeals in juvenile cases except cases governed by rules 8.416 and 8.417.

	(b) * * *
	(c) Preparing and certifying the transcripts
	Except in cases governed by rule 8.417, within 20 days after the notice of appeal is filed:
	(1) The clerk must prepare and certify as correct an original of the clerk’s transcript and one copy each for the appellant, the respondent, the child’s Indian tribe if the tribe has intervened, and the child if the child is represented by counsel on ...
	(2) The reporter must prepare, certify as correct, and deliver to the clerk an original of the reporter’s transcript and the same number of copies as (1) requires of the clerk’s transcript.


	(d)–(e)  * * *

	Rule 8.412.  Briefs by parties and amici curiae
	(a) * * *
	(b) Time to file
	(1) Except in appeals governed by rules 8.416 and 8.417, the appellant must serve and file the appellant’s opening brief within 40 days after the record is filed in the reviewing court.
	(2) The respondent must serve and file the respondent’s brief within 30 days after the appellant’s opening brief is filed.
	(3) The appellant must serve and file any reply brief within 20 days after the respondent’s brief is filed.
	(4) In dependency cases in which the child is not an appellant but has appellate counsel, the child must serve and file any brief within 10 days after the respondent’s brief is filed.
	(5) Rule 8.220 applies if a party fails to timely file an appellant’s opening brief or a respondent’s brief, but the period specified in the notice required by that rule must be 30 days.

	(c) Extensions of time
	The superior court may not order any extensions of time to file briefs. Except in appeals governed by rules 8.416 and 8.417, the reviewing court may order extensions of time for good cause.

	(d) Failure to file a brief
	(1) Except in appeals governed by rules 8.416 and 8.417, if a party fails to timely file an appellant’s opening brief or a respondent’s brief, the reviewing court clerk must promptly notify the party’s counsel or the party, if not represented, in writ...
	(A)–(B) * * *

	(2)–(3) * * *

	(e) * * *

	Rule 8.417.  Appeals from orders transferring a minor from juvenile court to a court of criminal jurisdiction
	(a) Application
	This rule governs appeals from orders of the juvenile court granting a motion to transfer a minor from juvenile court to a court of criminal jurisdiction.

	(b) Form of record
	(1) The clerk’s and reporter’s transcripts must comply with rules 8.45–8.47, relating to sealed and confidential records, and, except as provided in (2), with rule 8.144.
	(2) The cover of the record must prominently display the title “Appeal from Order Transferring a Minor from Juvenile Court to a Court of Criminal Jurisdiction Under Welfare and Institutions Code Section 801.”

	(c) Record on appeal
	(1) In addition to the items listed in rule 8.407(a), the clerk’s transcript must contain:
	(A) Any report by the probation officer on the behavioral patterns and social history of the minor, including any oral or written statement offered by the victim under Welfare and Institutions Code section 656.2;
	(B) Any other probation report or document filed with the court on the petition under Welfare and Institutions Code section 602; and
	(C) Any document in written or electronic form submitted to the court in connection with the prima facie showing under rule 5.766(c) or the motion to transfer jurisdiction.

	(2) In addition to the items listed in rule 8.407(b), any reporter’s transcript must contain the oral proceedings at any hearings on the prima facie showing under rule 5.766(c) and the motion to transfer jurisdiction.

	(d) Preparing, certifying, and sending the record
	(1) Within 20 court days after the notice of appeal is filed:
	(A) The clerk must prepare and certify as correct an original of the clerk’s transcript and one copy each for the appellant, the respondent, and the district appellate project; and
	(B) The reporter must prepare, certify as correct, and deliver to the clerk an original of the reporter’s transcript and the same number of copies as (A) requires of the clerk’s transcript.

	(2) When the clerk’s and reporter’s transcripts are certified as correct, the clerk must immediately send:
	(A) The original transcripts to the reviewing court by the most expeditious method, noting the sending date on each original; and
	(B) One copy of each transcript to the district appellate project and to the appellate counsel for the following, if they have appellate counsel, by any method as fast as United States Postal Service express mail:
	(i) The appellant; and
	(ii) The respondent.


	(3) If appellate counsel has not yet been retained or appointed for the minor, when the transcripts are certified as correct, the clerk must send that counsel’s copies of the transcripts to the district appellate project.

	(e) Augmenting or correcting the record
	(1) Except as provided in (2) and (3), rule 8.410 governs any augmentation or correction of the record.
	(2) An appellant must serve and file any motion for augmentation or correction within 15 days after receiving the record. A respondent must serve and file any such motion within 15 days after the appellant’s opening brief is filed.
	(3) The clerk and the reporter must prepare any supplemental transcripts within 20 days, giving them the highest priority.
	(4) The clerk must certify and send any supplemental transcripts as required by (d).

	(f) Time to file briefs
	(1) The appellant must serve and file the appellant’s opening brief within 30 days after the record is filed in the reviewing court.
	(2) Rule 8.412(b) governs the time for filing other briefs.

	(g) Extensions of time
	The superior court may not order any extensions of time to prepare the record or to file briefs; the reviewing court may order extensions of time but must require an exceptional showing of good cause.

	(h) Failure to file a brief
	Rule 8.412(d) applies if a party fails to timely file an appellant’s opening brief or a respondent’s brief, but the period specified in the notice required by that rule must be 15 days.

	(i) Oral argument and submission of the cause
	(1) Unless the reviewing court orders otherwise, counsel must serve and file any request for oral argument no later than 15 days after the appellant’s reply brief is filed or due to be filed. Failure to file a timely request will be deemed a waiver.
	(2) The court must hear oral argument within 60 days after the appellant’s last reply brief is filed or due to be filed, unless the court extends the time for good cause or counsel waive argument.
	(3) If counsel waive argument, the cause is deemed submitted no later than 60 days after the appellant’s reply brief is filed or due to be filed.
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