
SPR10-12 
Invitation to Comment 

 

 
 

Title Appellate Procedure: Record on Appeal (amend Cal. Rules of Court, 
rules 8.866, 8.868, 8.917, and 8.919) 
 

Summary This proposal would amend the California Rules of Court relating to 
the record on appeal in misdemeanor and infraction cases to specify 
the consequence if the appellant fails to timely make a required deposit 
for a reporter’s transcript, official electronic recording, or transcript 
prepared from such an electronic recording or take one of the alternate 
actions specified in the rules. 
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Rules 8.866 and 8.919 of the California Rules of Court provide that in misdemeanor cases 
in which the defendant was not represented by appointed counsel at trial and in infraction 
cases, if the defendant appeals and requests a reporter’s transcript, the reporter must 
provide an estimate of how much it will cost to prepare the transcript. Within 10 days after 
the clerk sends this estimate, the defendant-appellant must deposit the estimated cost of 
the transcript, file a declaration of indigency, or notify the clerk that he or she will be 
using a statement on appeal instead of a reporter’s transcript. Rules 8.868 and 8.917 
similarly provide for depositing the estimated cost for preparing a copy of an official 
electronic recording or transcript prepared from an official electronic recording. Currently, 
however, these rules do not indicate what the consequences are if a defendant-appellant 
does not timely make the required deposit or take one of the other actions permitted by 
these rules. In contrast, rules 8.869(b)(3) and 8.916(b)(3), which relate to statements on 
appeal in misdemeanor and infraction cases, provide that if the appellant does not file a 
proposed statement on appeal within the time specified in the rule, the trial court clerk 
must promptly notify the appellant by mail that the proposed statement must be filed 
within 15 days after the notice is mailed and that failure to comply will result in the appeal 
being dismissed. 
 
This proposal would fill the gap in the rules relating to the use of reporter’s transcripts and 
official electronic recordings in misdemeanor and infraction appeals by providing that if 
the appellant does not timely make the required deposit for the transcript or recording or 
take one of the other actions permitted by these rules, the trial court clerk must promptly 
notify the appellant that the appeal will be dismissed unless one of the specified actions is 
taken within 15 days after the notice is mailed. 
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The committee would particularly appreciate comments on whether dismissal of the 
appeal or proceeding without a record of the oral proceedings from the trial court is the 
most appropriate consequence when a defendant-appellant in a misdemeanor or infraction 
case does not take an action necessary to procure the record on appeal, such as making a 
required deposit for a requested reporter’s transcript or filing a proposed statement on 
appeal. As noted above, dismissal of the appeal is the consequence currently provided for 
failure to timely file a proposed statement on appeal under rules 8.869(b)(3) and 
8.916(b)(3) and, under rules 8.140 and 8.842, it is also the consequence if the appellant in 
either a limited or unlimited case fails to take action necessary to procure the record on 
appeal. However, under rule 8.864(c) and 8.915(c), if an appellant in a misdemeanor or 
infraction case fails to timely file the required notice informing the court whether he or 
she elects to proceed with or without a record of the oral proceedings in the trial court, the 
applicable consequence is that the appeal will proceed without a record of the oral 
proceedings from the trial court.  
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Rules 8.866, 8.868, 8.917, and 8.919 of the California Rules of Court would be amended, 
effective January 1, 2011, to read: 
 

Title 8.  Appellate Rules 1 
 2 

Chapter 3. Appeals and Records in Misdemeanor Cases 3 
 4 

Article 2.  Record in Misdemeanor Appeals 5 
 6 
Rule 8.866.  Preparation of reporter’s transcript 7 
 8 
(a) When preparation begins 9 

 10 
(1) * * * 11 
 12 
(2) If the notice sent to the reporter by the clerk under rule 8.864(a)(1) indicates 13 

that the appellant is the defendant and that the defendant was not represented 14 
by appointed counsel at trial: 15 
 16 
(A) Within 10 days after the date the clerk mailed the notice under rule 17 

8.864(a)(1), the reporter must file with the clerk the estimated cost of 18 
preparing the reporter’s transcript; and   19 

 20 
(B) The clerk must promptly notify the appellant and his or her counsel of 21 

the estimated cost of preparing the reporter’s transcript. The notification 22 
must show the date it was mailed. 23 

 24 
(C) Within 10 days after the date the clerk mailed the notice under (B), the 25 

appellant must do one of the following: 26 
 27 
(i) Deposit with the clerk an amount equal to the estimated cost of 28 

preparing the transcript; 29 
 30 
(ii) File a declaration of indigency supported by evidence in the form 31 

required by the Judicial Council; or  32 
 33 
(iii) Notify the clerk that he or she will be using a statement on appeal 34 

instead of a reporter’s transcript. 35 
 36 

(D) If the appellant does not take one of the actions specified in (C) within 37 
the time required, the trial court clerk must promptly notify the appellant 38 
by mail that the appeal will be dismissed unless one of the specified 39 
actions is taken within 15 days after the notice is mailed. 40 

 41 
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(D)(E) The clerk must promptly notify the reporter to begin preparing the 1 
transcript when: 2 

 3 
(i) The clerk receives the required deposit under (C)(i); or  4 
 5 
(ii) The trial court determines that the defendant is indigent and orders 6 

that the defendant receive the transcript without cost. 7 
 8 

(b) – (e) * * * 9 
 10 
 11 

Rule 8.868.  Record when trial proceedings were officially electronically recorded 12 
 13 
(a) – (c) * * * 14 
 15 
(d) When preparation begins 16 

 17 
(1) * * *  18 

 19 
(2) If the appellant is the defendant and the defendant was not represented by 20 

appointed counsel at trial: 21 
 22 
(A) Within 10 days after the date the defendant files the election under rule 23 

8.864(a)(1), the clerk must notify the appellant and his or her counsel of 24 
the estimated cost of preparing the transcript or the copy of the 25 
recording. The notification must show the date it was mailed. 26 

 27 
(B) Within 10 days after the date the clerk mailed the notice under (A), the 28 

appellant must do one of the following: 29 
 30 
(i) Deposit with the clerk an amount equal to the estimated cost of 31 

preparing the transcript or the copy of the recording; 32 
 33 
(ii) File a declaration of indigency supported by evidence in the form 34 

required by the Judicial Council; or  35 
 36 
(iii) Notify the clerk that he or she will be using a statement on appeal 37 

instead of a transcript or copy of the recording. 38 
 39 

(C) If the appellant does not take one of the actions specified in (B) within 40 
the time required, the trial court clerk must promptly notify the appellant 41 
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by mail that the appeal will be dismissed unless one of the specified 1 
actions is taken within 15 days after the notice is mailed. 2 

 3 
(C)(D) Preparation of the transcript must begin when: 4 

 5 
(i) The clerk receives the required deposit under (B)(i); or  6 
 7 
(ii) The trial court determines that the defendant is indigent and orders 8 

that the defendant receive the transcript or the copy of the 9 
recording without cost. 10 

 11 
 12 

Chapter 5. Appeals in Infraction Cases 13 
 14 

Article 2.  Record in Infraction Appeals 15 
 16 
Rule 8.917.  Record when trial proceedings were officially electronically recorded 17 
 18 
(a) – (c) * * *  19 
 20 
(d) When preparation begins 21 

 22 
(1) If the appellant is the People, preparation of a transcript or a copy of the 23 

recording must begin immediately after the appellant files an election under 24 
rule 8.915(a) to use a transcript of an official electronic recording or a copy of 25 
the official electronic recording as the record of the oral proceedings. 26 

 27 
(2) If the appellant is the defendant: 28 

 29 
(A) Within 10 days after the date the appellant files the election under rule 30 

8.915(a), the clerk must notify the appellant and his or her counsel of the 31 
estimated cost of preparing the transcript or the copy of the recording. 32 
The notification must show the date it was mailed. 33 

 34 
(B) Within 10 days after the date the clerk mailed the notice under (A), the 35 

appellant must do one of the following: 36 
 37 
(i) Deposit with the clerk an amount equal to the estimated cost of 38 

preparing the transcript or the copy of the recording; 39 
 40 
(ii) File a declaration of indigency supported by evidence in the form 41 

required by the Judicial Council; or  42 
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 1 
(iii) Notify the clerk that he or she will be using a statement on appeal 2 

instead of a transcript or copy of the recording. 3 
 4 

(C) If the appellant does not take one of the actions specified in (B) within 5 
the time required, the trial court clerk must promptly notify the appellant 6 
by mail that the appeal will be dismissed unless one of the specified 7 
actions is taken within 15 days after the notice is mailed. 8 

 9 
(C)(D) Preparation of the transcript must begin when: 10 

 11 
(i) The clerk receives the required deposit under (B)(i); or  12 
 13 
(ii) The trial court determines that the defendant is indigent and orders 14 

that the defendant receive the transcript or the copy of the 15 
recording without cost. 16 

 17 
 18 
Rule 8.919.  Preparation of reporter’s transcript 19 
 20 
(a) When preparation begins 21 

 22 
(1) The reporter must immediately begin preparing the reporter’s transcript if the 23 

notice sent to the reporter by the clerk under rule 8.915(a)(3) indicates that the 24 
appellant is the People. 25 

 26 
(2) If the notice sent to the reporter by the clerk under rule 8.915(a)(3) indicates 27 

that the appellant is the defendant: 28 
 29 
(A) Within 10 days after the date the clerk mailed the notice under rule 30 

8.915(a)(3), the reporter must file with the clerk the estimated cost of 31 
preparing the reporter’s transcript; and   32 

 33 
(B) The clerk must promptly notify the appellant and his or her counsel of 34 

the estimated cost of preparing the reporter’s transcript. The notification 35 
must show the date it was mailed. 36 

 37 
(C) Within 10 days after the date the clerk mailed the notice under (B), the 38 

appellant must do one of the following: 39 
 40 
(i) Deposit with the clerk an amount equal to the estimated cost of 41 

preparing the transcript; 42 
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 1 
(ii) File a declaration of indigency supported by evidence in the form 2 

required by the Judicial Council; or  3 
 4 
(iii) Notify the clerk that he or she will be using a statement on appeal 5 

instead of a reporter’s transcript. 6 
 7 

(D) If the appellant does not take one of the actions specified in (C) within 8 
the time required, the trial court clerk must promptly notify the appellant 9 
by mail that the appeal will be dismissed unless one of the specified 10 
actions is taken within 15 days after the notice is mailed. 11 

 12 
(D)(E) The clerk must promptly notify the reporter to begin preparing the 13 

transcript when: 14 
 15 
(i) The clerk receives the required deposit under (C)(i); or  16 
 17 
(ii) The trial court determines that the defendant is indigent and orders 18 

that the defendant receive the transcript without cost. 19 
 20 
(b) – (e) * * * 21 
 22 



Circulation for comment does not imply endorsement by the Judicial Council or the Rules and 
Projects Committee. All comments will become part of the public record of the council’s action. 

Item SPR10-12    Response Form 
 

Title: Appellate Procedure: Record on Appeal (amend rules 8.866, 8.868, 8.917, | 
and 8.919) 
 
 

    Agree with proposed changes 
 

    Agree with proposed changes if modified 
 

    Do not agree with proposed changes 
 

Comments:             
 
              
 
              
 
              
 
              
 
              
 
              
 

Name:      Title:       
 
Organization:            
 
  Commenting on behalf of an organization
 
Address:             
 
City, State, Zip:            
 

To Submit Comments 
Comments may be submitted online, written on this form, or prepared in a letter format. If you 
are not commenting directly on this form, please include the information requested above and 
the proposal number for identification purposes. Please submit your comments online or email, 
mail, or fax comments. You are welcome to email your comments as an attachment. 
 

Internet: http://www.courtinfo.ca.gov/invitationstocomment/ 
 

Email:  invitations@jud.ca.gov  
Mail:  Ms. Camilla Kieliger 
  Judicial Council, 455 Golden Gate Avenue 
  San Francisco, CA  94102 
Fax:  (415) 865-7664, Attn: Camilla Kieliger 
 

DEADLINE FOR COMMENT:  5:00 p.m., Friday, June 18, 2010 


	SPR10-12 APP Rec on Appeal
	SPR10-12 RF

