11/_020

			JV-820
ATTORNEY OR PARTY WITHOUT ATTORNEY: NAME:	STATE BAR NO.:		FOR COURT USE ONLY
FIRM NAME:			
STREET ADDRESS:			
CITY:	STATE:	ZIP CODE:	
TELEPHONE NO.:	FAX NO.:		
E-MAIL ADDRESS:			
ATTORNEY FOR (name):			
SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUN STREET ADDRESS: MAILING ADDRESS:	TY OF		
CITY AND ZIP CODE:			
BRANCH NAME:			
CASE NAME:			
NOTICE OF INTENT AND REQUEST FOR RECORD TO UNDER WELFARE AND INST (California Rules)	REVIEW ORDER	R SETTING A HEARIN E SECTION 366.26	
		NOTICE	
rights and adoption of the child. If you want a court of appeal to review the juvenile court's decision, you must first tell the juvenile court by filing a Notice of Intent. You may use this form as your Notice of Intent. In most cases, you have only 7 days from the juvenile court's decision to file a Notice of Intent. Please see page 2 for your specific deadline for filing this form. If you are not the county welfare department, child, child's parent, or child's legal guardian, you may have a right to challenge a decision by the juvenile court, but only in very limited circumstances. You may need a court order granting you access to records in the juvenile case file. For more information, please see <i>Information on Requesting Access to Records for Persons With a Limited Right to Appeal</i> (form JV-291-INFO). You can get form JV-291-INFO at any courthouse or county law library or online at <u>www.courts.ca.gov/forms</u> .			
 Petitioner's name: Petitioner's address: Petitioner's phone number: Petitioner is 			
 a parent (name): b legal guardian. c county welfare department. d child. e other (state relationship to child) 	hild or interest in the	e case):	
5. Child's name:		Child's date of I	birth:
 6. a. On (<i>date</i>): the juvenile court made an order setting a hearing under Welfare and Institutions Code section 366.26. Petitioner intends to file a writ petition to challenge the findings and orders made by the court on that date and requests that the clerk assemble the record. b. List all known dates of the hearing that resulted in the order: 			
7. The hearing under Welfare and Institut		-	-
8. Petitioner has been granted access to specified records in the juvenile case file, and a copy of the court's order under Welfare and Institutions Code section 827(a)(1)(Q), on form Order After Judicial Review on Petition for Access to Juvenile Case File (form JV-574), if available, is attached.			
Date:			
TYPE OR PRINT NAME		SIGNATU	IRE OF PETITIONER ATTORNEY
The Notice of Intent to File Writ Petition	must be signed by th	he person who intends to	o file the writ petition or by the attorney of record.

PLEASE READ THE BACK OF THIS FORM FOR IMPORTANT INFORMATION AND DEADLINES Page 1 of 2

Form Approved for Optional Use Judicial Council of California JV-820 [Rev. September 1, 2020] NOTICE OF INTENT TO FILE WRIT PETITION AND REQUEST FOR **RECORD TO REVIEW ORDER SETTING A HEARING UNDER** WELFARE AND INSTITUTIONS CODE SECTION 366.26 (California Rules of Court, Rule 8.450)

Welfare and Institutions Code, § 366.26; Cal. Rules of Court, rule 8.450 www.courts.ca.gov

WHAT WILL HAPPEN AT THE HEARING TO MAKE A PERMANENT PLAN?

- The court may order the termination of parental rights and adoption of the child.
- The court may order a legal guardianship for the child.
- The court may order a permanent plan of placement of the child with a fit and willing relative.
- The court may order another planned permanent living arrangement if the child is 16 years old or older.
- The court may order a permanent plan of placement of the child in a foster home.

The above options are listed in the normal order of preference, because the main goal is to give the child a stable and permanent living situation.

SEE WELF. & INST. CODE, § 366.26 FOR MORE INFORMATION

HOW DO I CHALLENGE THE COURT'S DECISION TO SET A HEARING TO MAKE A PERMANENT PLAN?

- File this Notice of Intent to File Writ Petition and Request for Record in the juvenile court within the time specified below in the next box. This will let the court know you intend to file a writ petition, and the court will prepare the record.
- You will be notified after the record is filed in the Court of Appeal, and you will get copies of the record. You have 10 days after the record is filed in the Court of Appeal to file and serve your writ petition.
- You may use the optional Judicial Council form *Petition for Extraordinary Writ* (form JV-825) to complete your writ petition, or, if you have an attorney, your attorney can write the writ petition for you.
- After you file a writ petition in the Court of Appeal, you must send copies of the petition to all of the parties in the case, to the child's CASA volunteer, to the child's present caregiver, and to any de facto parent who has standing to participate in the juvenile court proceedings. With your writ petition, you must file a Proof of Service confirming you have sent a copy of the petition to these people.

SEE WELF. & INST. CODE, § 366.26(1); CAL. RULES OF COURT, RULES 8.450-8.452

WHEN DO I HAVE TO FILE MY NOTICE OF INTENT TO FILE WRIT PETITION AND REQUEST FOR RECORD?

- If you were present when the court set the hearing to make a permanent plan, you must file the Notice of Intent within 7 days from the date the court set the hearing.
- If you were not present in court but were given notice by mail of the court's decision to set a hearing to make a permanent plan and you live in California, you must file the Notice of Intent within 12 days from the date the clerk mailed the notification.
- If you were not present in court but were given notice by mail of the court's decision to set a hearing to make a permanent plan and you live in a state other than California, you must file the Notice of Intent within 17 days from the date the clerk mailed the notification.
- If you were not present in court but were given notice by mail of the court's decision to set a hearing to make a permanent
 plan and you live outside the United States, you must file the Notice of Intent within 27 days from the date the clerk mailed
 the notification.
- If you are a party in a custodial institution you must give the Notice of Intent to custodial officials for mailing within the time specified in this box.

SEE CAL. RULES OF COURT, RULES 8.450, 5.540(c)

 If the order setting the hearing was made by a referee not acting as a temporary judge, you have an additional 10 days to file the Notice of Intent.

SEE WELF. & INST. CODE, §§ 248–252; CAL. RULES OF COURT, RULES 5.538, 5.540

WHO MUST SIGN THE NOTICE OF INTENT?

- The person who intends to file the writ petition, or
- The attorney of record for the person who intends to file the writ petition

JV-820 [Rev. September 1, 2020]

NOTICE OF INTENT TO FILE WRIT PETITION AND REQUEST FOR RECORD TO REVIEW ORDER SETTING A HEARING UNDER WELFARE AND INSTITUTIONS CODE SECTION 366.26 (California Rules of Court, Rule 8.450)