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Executive Summary 

The Family and Juvenile Law Advisory Committee recommends that the Judicial Council adopt 
rule 5.495 of the California Rules of Court to provide a procedure for courts issuing family and 
juvenile law domestic violence restraining orders to determine whether a restrained person has 
complied with the court’s order to relinquish any prohibited firearms the restrained person owns, 
possesses, or controls, as specified in Family Code section 6389(c). The statute provides no 
guidance for courts to determine compliance with relinquishment orders, and the proposed rule 
provides a statewide framework for implementing section 6389 while allowing for the 
development of local procedures. 

Recommendation 

The Family and Juvenile Law Advisory Committee recommends that the Judicial Council, 
effective July 1, 2014, adopt rule 5.495 of the California Rules of Court to provide a procedure 
for courts issuing family and juvenile law domestic violence restraining orders to determine 
whether a restrained person has complied with the court’s order to relinquish any prohibited 
firearms the restrained person owns, possesses, or controls, as specified in Family Code section 
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6389(c). The rule would apply to all protective orders as defined in Family Code section 6218 
and Welfare and Institutions Code section 213.5.  
 
The text of rule 5.495 is attached at pages 9–12. 

Previous Council Action 

In July 2010, the council adopted California Rules of Court, rule 4.700, which applies to criminal 
domestic violence restraining order cases and addresses the same procedural gap as is addressed 
by rule 5.495. During 2011, information was sought about implementation of rule 4.700 from 
judicial offices, prosecutors, defense attorneys, probation officers, and other justice system 
personnel. Judicial officers reported that implementation of the rule resulted in no significant 
increase in court time or resources. The Domestic Violence Practice and Procedure Task Force 
presented this information to the council in February 2012.1 
 
Rule 5.495 was developed jointly by the Family and Juvenile Law Advisory Committee and the 
Domestic Violence Practice and Procedure Task Force. Although the task force concluded its 
duties on September 1, 2013, the Judicial Council, at its August 2013 meeting, directed the 
Family and Juvenile Law Advisory Committee to move forward with this proposed firearms rule 
after September 1, 2013.2 

Rationale for Recommendation 

Under Family Code section 6389(a), anyone subject to a specified family or juvenile law 
domestic violence restraining order is prohibited from owning, possessing, purchasing, or 
receiving a firearm except under rare circumstances. Additionally, the court is required to order 
the restrained person to relinquish any firearm in that person’s immediate possession or control, 
or subject to that person’s immediate possession or control, within 24 hours of being served with 
the order, either by surrendering the firearm to the control of local law enforcement officials or 
by selling the firearm to, or storing the firearm with, a licensed gun dealer.3 The restrained 
person must file with the court a receipt showing that the firearm was surrendered to the local 
law enforcement agency or sold to or stored with a licensed gun dealer within 48 hours of 
receiving the order (Fam. Code, § 6389(c)). 
 
Addressing a procedural gap in statute 
There is no provision in Family Code section 6389 for a procedure to ensure that the court’s 
order to relinquish a prohibited firearm has been followed. Rule 5.495 sets forth a consistent 
statewide procedure to do so. The rule: 
                                                 
1 The report is available at www.courts.ca.gov/documents/jc-20120228-info1.pdf. 
2 See item J of the council meeting minutes posted at www.courts.ca.gov/documents/jc-20130823-minutes.pdf. 
3 The court may grant an exemption from the relinquishment requirement for a particular firearm if the respondent 
can show that the firearm is necessary as a condition of continued employment (Fam. Code, § 6389(h)). Effective 
July 1, 2014, the restrained person may choose to store his or her firearm with a licensed gun dealer as one of the 
relinquishment options (Assem. Bill 539; Stats. 2013, ch. 739). 
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 Specifies that the court must consider relevant information, when presented at a noticed 

hearing, to determine whether the person subject to a family or juvenile law protective 
order has a prohibited firearm; 

 
 Provides procedures regarding the court’s determination, including considering whether 

the restrained person filed a relinquishment, storage or sale receipt required by Family 
Code section 6389(c) or if an exemption from the firearm prohibition was granted under 
Family Code section 6389(h); 
 

 Provides that the court may make its determination at the time a domestic violence 
protective order is issued or at a subsequent noticed hearing while the order remains in 
effect; 
 

 Specifies that documentation of the court’s determination be provided to the parties;  
 

 Specifies remedies to be applied if the court determines that a restrained person has failed 
to relinquish a prohibited firearm; and 
 

 For cases in which the court defers consideration of the matter to a review hearing, 
specifies the timing of that hearing, requires the protected person to provide notice of the 
hearing either in person or by mail to the restrained person if that person was not present 
when the court set the review hearing, specifies who must be present at the review 
hearing, and provides that a party may appear by telephone at the review hearing under 
rule 5.9. 

 
Enhancing information available to the court in complex family and juvenile law matters 
Rule 5.495 supports the goal of enhancing information available to the court in complex family 
and juvenile law matters relating to child custody and safety of children, including whether a 
parent has failed to comply with the court’s order to relinquish a firearm. 
 
The Judicial Council recently demonstrated its intent to enhance the information available to 
courts about whether a restrained person has a prohibited firearm when it revised the Emergency 
Protective Order (form EPO-001),4 which is used by law enforcement to request a restraining 
order that is valid for up to seven calendar days. The revisions include the addition of check 
boxes for law enforcement to indicate whether firearms were observed, reported, searched for, or 
seized. A copy of the form may later be provided to the family or juvenile court in connection 
with a request for a restraining order. In such a case, the court could have information that a 
firearm was reported to, observed, or searched for by law enforcement but no specified 
procedure to ensure that the firearm was relinquished as required. Rule 5.495 provides such a 
procedure. 
                                                 
4 The report is available at www.courts.ca.gov/documents/jc-20121026-itemA26.pdf. 
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Addressing fiscal and operational issues 
The rule may reduce the likelihood of additional court hearings on restraining order violations, 
thus reducing the fiscal burden on the courts. When a restrained person fails to relinquish a 
firearm as ordered, he or she may be subject to criminal prosecution or a contempt proceeding 
brought by the protected party. The rule would allow the court to consider whether the restrained 
person complied with the relinquishment order at an existing noticed court hearing, rather than 
requiring additional court time and resources for a later-filed action. 
 
The rule requires court action only in a case where relevant information is presented that the 
restrained person has a prohibited firearm in his or her immediate possession or control—
precisely the case that poses a serious risk of lethality. Several courts that have implemented 
local firearm relinquishment procedures report that implementation of their procedures has 
required minimal additional court resources. 
 
However, development of local rules requires resources and time that many courts do not have in 
the current budget climate. A statewide approach obviates the need for individual courts to 
expend their time and resources developing local rules and does not discourage development of 
local procedures when deemed necessary by the courts. The Advisory Committee Comment at 
the end of rule 5.495 specifically encourages courts to develop local procedures for firearm 
relinquishment review hearings. 
 
Reducing public confusion 
The committee reviewed existing procedures and noted that many courts have no procedure to 
review whether a restrained person has relinquished his or her firearm as ordered. The public’s 
confusion over the court’s responsibility and lack of court follow-up on the firearm 
relinquishment order could pose a serious threat to the safety of the public at large and the 
protected persons. A statewide rule would also provide consistent information to the restrained 
person about compliance with the court’s order. 

Comments, Alternatives Considered, and Policy Implications 

The proposal was circulated to the standard mailing lists for family and juvenile law proposals 
during the regular winter comment cycle from December 13, 2013 to January 24, 2014. Included 
on the lists were appellate presiding justices, appellate court administrators, trial court presiding 
judges, trial court executive officers, judges, court administrators and clerks, attorneys, social 
workers, probation officers, and other family law professionals, such as family law facilitators. 
The committee also sought comment from legal aid attorneys and attorneys working for 
domestic violence victim support agencies in the greater San Francisco Bay Area, the California 
Department of Justice (DOJ), and law enforcement agencies identified by the California DOJ.  
 
The committee received comments from 13 commentators.  Of those, 3 agreed with the proposal, 
7 agreed if modified, and 3 did not state a position. A chart presenting the comments and the 
committee’s responses is attached at pages 13–35. In general, the comments supported the rule.  
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Alternatives considered 
The committee carefully considered whether limiting firearm relinquishment procedures to local 
practice would sufficiently address the safety, operational, and fiscal issues addressed by the 
rule. The committee rejected relying solely on a local approach because statewide consistency 
provides needed information about firearm relinquishment to the parties and the court, reduces 
the likelihood of additional court hearings for restraining order violations, and eliminates the 
need for courts to develop local rules. A more detailed explanation of the committee’s analysis 
follows.   
 
Comments on issues specified by the committee 
The committee specifically requested public comment on two issues:  
 Whether the proposal appropriately addresses the stated purpose, and  
 In those cases where the court sets a review hearing, whether the rule should specify that the 

restrained person be notified by personal service or by mail.  
 
Among the commentators who responded to whether the proposal addresses the stated purpose, 
all responded affirmatively.  
 
Many commentators responded to the issue of the method of notice of a review hearing. The rule 
does not require a review hearing, but courts may schedule one at their discretion. The proposal 
as circulated would have required the protected person to provide personal service of a review 
hearing date when the restrained person was not present at the noticed hearing.   
 
Commentators overwhelmingly favored service of process by mail for any subsequent review 
hearing, with many noting that personal service of a review hearing on the volatile and 
potentially lethal issue of firearms could be very dangerous. Furthermore, commentators noted 
that it would be difficult for the sheriff’s office to effectuate service in three days as was required 
by the rule that was circulated for comment. Finally, commentators noted that the restrained 
person would have already been personally served by the time a noticed hearing took place so 
service by mail of a subsequent review hearing on an issue highlighted in the temporary 
restraining order would be sufficient. The committee notes that the documents personally served 
on a respondent in an action for a Domestic Violence Prevention Act restraining order include a 
notice that the court will ask for proof that a prohibited firearm was relinquished as ordered.5  
 
In response to these comments, the committee incorporated the suggestion to allow service of 
process of any subsequent review hearing either personally or by mail, to allow flexibility. In 
order to account for mail delivery, the length of time between the noticed hearing and the review 
hearing was lengthened to 10 days. 
 

                                                 
5 See form DV-110, Temporary Restraining Order, “Warnings and Notices to the Restrained Person in (2).”  
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Comments on other issues 
In response to the procedures outlined in subdivision (d) concerning the court’s determination of 
whether a restrained person subject to a firearm relinquishment order still has a firearm, one 
commentator suggested that the term “determination” in (d)(3) be replaced with “finding” to 
more appropriately reflect the court’s action. Though the terms have similar meaning, 
“determination” more closely aligns with the conclusion that the court reaches, based on a 
variety of facts that the court may consider. In addition, changing one instance of 
“determination” to “finding” in the rule may cause confusion. For these reasons, the committee 
did not modify the circulated rule as suggested.  
 
One commentator expressed concern that the rule may preempt their court’s firearm 
relinquishment procedures. The commentator suggested that wording be added to the rule to (1) 
clarify that courts are encouraged to develop local procedures to ensure the restrained person has 
no firearms or has complied with the relinquishment order and (2) state that the rule is not 
intended to preempt local procedures. The committee notes that rule 5.495 would preempt local 
procedures only in situations where the local procedures conflict with the rule. The committee 
also notes that the suggested text is advisory in nature and therefore is more appropriate for the 
Advisory Committee Comment. 
 
Two commentators suggested that subdivision (f), on child custody and visitation orders, be 
distinguished from other orders the court may make. In response, the committee has moved the 
remedies such as contempt or money sanctions to a new subdivision (g). 
 
Two commentators questioned the utility of the court providing its determination in writing to 
the parties. One commentator questioned how a protected person might use the determination 
and expressed concern that the only remedy for a protected person was a difficult contempt 
action. The committee notes that failure to file a relinquishment, sale, or storage receipt 
demonstrating compliance with the relinquishment order constitutes a violation of the restraining 
order. (Fam. Code, § 6389(b)(2)(B).) If the court makes a written determination that the 
restrained person failed to file the receipt, the protected person may utilize the determination to 
attempt to initiate a criminal justice response in addition to or instead of a civil proceeding. 
 
Three commentators commented on court resources necessary to implement the rule. One 
judicial officer stated that the rule would not constitute a cost savings and would add costs but 
that the costs are necessary. Another court commentator noted that clarifying the court’s role in 
enforcing firearm relinquishment “is much needed” and should be replicated in other restraining 
order matters such as civil harassment, workplace violence, and elder and dependent adult abuse. 
This commentator also noted that most courts are overwhelmed with court hearings and that 
additional resources to respond to the requirements of the rule are needed. 
 
The Trial Court Presiding Judges Advisory Committee/Court Executives Advisory Committee 
Joint Rules Working Group (rules working group) agreed with the proposal, if modified. The 
committee revised the rule to respond to several of the rules working group’s suggestions 
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including to (1) clarify that the rule is applicable only at a noticed hearing and (2) allow notice of 
a subsequent review hearing to be served by mail. The rules working group suggested that 
service of process by a probation officer or child welfare department be authorized if the case 
involves a juvenile restraining order. The committee notes that this suggestion would create 
additional duties for governmental agencies and would therefore need to be circulated for public 
comment. The rules working group also suggested a requirement for the probation department to 
file a firearm receipt upon seizure of any prohibited firearms. The committee notes that the 
suggestion would create additional duties for governmental agencies and would need to be 
circulated for public comment.  
 
In response to the committee’s public comment request for information on how the proposal 
would impact the courts, the rules working group commented that courts would be required to 
create new event codes, docket codes, and wording for minute orders. In addition, court staff 
would be required to (1) expedite processing of receipts for input and imaging; (2) prepare 
calendars for firearm relinquishment review hearings, including file reviews for proofs of service 
and relinquishment receipts; and (3) provide judicial officers with printouts of specified reports. 
 
Commentators suggested that if the court makes a determination that the restrained person has a 
firearm in violation of the law, the court should provide a copy of its determination to the parties, 
rather than wait for a request from a party as was indicated in the proposal that was circulated for 
comment. The commentators noted that self-represented litigants would not know to ask the 
court for a copy. In response, the committee revised the rule to require the court to provide a 
copy of its determination to the parties who are present at a noticed hearing and, upon request, to 
any party not present. The committee notes that current budget constraints do not allow courts to 
provide service of the determination by mail to parties. Typically the protected person will be 
present at the noticed hearing when the court makes its determination so he or she will receive a 
copy of the determination.  
 
One commentator suggested modifying the circulated rule to clarify its applicability to cases in 
which a juvenile protective order has issued. In response, the committee added language to 
subdivision (a) specifying the rule’s applicability to cases in which a protective order has been 
issued under Welfare and Institutions Code section 213.5. 
 

One commentator suggested that since rule 5.630 governs restraining orders in juvenile court 
proceedings, a reference to rule 5.495 should be included in that rule. The committee recommends 
amending rule 5.630 to include a reference to rule 5.495. If rule 5.495 is not adopted by the 
Judicial Council, the reference to it would be removed from rule 5.630. Rule 5.630 is also on the 
agenda for the April 2014 Judicial Council meeting in a report entitled Domestic Violence: 
Changes to Rule and Forms for Family and Juvenile Law Restraining Orders. 



 8 

Implementation Requirements, Costs, and Operational Impacts 

Implementation of the rule may involve limited additional discretionary review hearings and, in 
those counties that have not already implemented similar procedures, may require education and 
training of court personnel. 

Attachments 

1. Cal. Rules of Court, rule 5.495, at pages 9–12 
2. Comment chart, at pages 13–35 



Rule 5.495 of the California Rules of Court is adopted, effective July 1, 2014, to read: 
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Division 2 1 
 2 

Chapter 4: Protective Orders 3 
         4 
Rule 5.495.  Firearm relinquishment procedures 5 
 6 
(a) Application of rule 7 
 8 

This rule applies when a family or juvenile law domestic violence protective order as 9 
defined in Family Code section 6218 or Welfare and Institutions Code section 213.5 is 10 
issued or in effect. 11 

 12 
(b) Purpose 13 
 14 

This rule addresses situations in which information is presented to the court about firearms 15 
and provides the court with options for appropriately addressing the issue. This rule is 16 
intended to: 17 

 18 
(1) Assist courts issuing domestic violence protective orders in determining whether a 19 

restrained person has a firearm in or subject to his or her immediate possession or 20 
control. 21 

 22 
(2) Assist courts that have issued domestic violence protective orders in determining 23 

whether a restrained person has complied with the court’s order to relinquish, store, 24 
or sell the firearm under Family Code section 6389(c). 25 

 26 
(c) Firearm determination  27 

 28 
When relevant information is presented to the court at any noticed hearing that a restrained 29 
person has a firearm, the court must consider that information to determine, by a 30 
preponderance of the evidence, whether the person subject to a protective order as defined 31 
in Family Code section 6218 or Welfare and Institutions Code section 213.5 has a firearm 32 
in or subject to his or her immediate possession or control in violation of Family Code 33 
section 6389. 34 
 35 

(d) Determination procedures 36 
 37 

(1) In making a determination under this rule, the court may consider whether the 38 
restrained person filed a firearm relinquishment, storage, or sales receipt or if an 39 
exemption from the firearm prohibition was granted under Family Code section 40 
6389(h). 41 

 42 
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(2) The court may make the determination at any noticed hearing when a domestic 1 
violence protective order is issued, at a subsequent review hearing, or at any 2 
subsequent family or juvenile law hearing while the order remains in effect. 3 

 4 
(3) If the court makes a determination that the restrained person has a firearm in 5 

violation of Family Code section 6389, the court must make a written record of the 6 
determination and provide a copy to any party who is present at the hearing and, 7 
upon request, to any party not present at the hearing. 8 

 9 
(e) Subsequent review hearing 10 
 11 

(1) When presented with information under (c), the court may set a review hearing to 12 
determine whether a violation of Family Code section 6389 has taken place. 13 

 14 
(2) The review hearing must be held within 10 court days after the noticed hearing at 15 

which the information was presented. If the restrained person is not present when the 16 
court sets the review hearing, the protected person must provide notice of the review 17 
hearing to the restrained person at least 2 court days before the review hearing, in 18 
accordance with Code of Civil Procedure 414.10, by personal service or by mail to 19 
the restrained person’s last known address. 20 

 21 
(3) The court may for good cause extend the date of the review hearing for a reasonable 22 

period or remove it from the calendar. 23 
 24 
(4) The court must order the restrained person to appear at the review hearing. 25 
 26 
(5) The court may conduct the review hearing in the absence of the protected person. 27 
 28 
(6) Nothing in this rule prohibits the court from permitting a party to appear by 29 

telephone under California Rules of Court, rule 5.9. 30 
 31 

(f) Child custody and visitation  32 
 33 

(1) If the court determines that the restrained person has a firearm in violation of Family 34 
Code section 6389, the court must consider that determination when deciding 35 
whether the restrained person has overcome the presumption in Family Code section 36 
3044. 37 

 38 
(2) An order for custody or visitation issued at any time during a family law matter must 39 

be made in a manner that ensures the health, safety, and welfare of the child and the 40 
safety of all family members, as specified in Family Code section 3020. The court 41 
must consider whether the best interest of the child, based on the circumstances of 42 
the case, requires that any visitation or custody arrangement be limited to situations 43 
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in which a third person, specified by the court, is present, or that visitation or 1 
custody be suspended or denied, as specified in Family Code section 6323(d). 2 

 3 
(3) An order for visitation issued at any time during a juvenile court matter must not 4 

jeopardize the safety of the child, as specified in Welfare and Institutions Code 5 
section 362.1. 6 

 7 
(g)  Other orders 8 
 9 

(1) The court may consider a determination that the restrained person has a firearm in 10 
violation of Family Code section 6389 in issuing: 11 

 12 
(A) An order to show cause for contempt under section 1209(a)(5) of the Code of 13 

Civil Procedure for failure to comply with the court’s order to surrender or sell 14 
a firearm; or 15 

 16 
(B) An order for money sanctions under section 177.5 of the Code of Civil 17 

Procedure. 18 
 19 

(2) This rule should not be construed to limit the court’s power to issue orders it is 20 
otherwise authorized or required to issue. 21 

 22 
Advisory Committee Comment 23 

 24 
When issuing a family or juvenile law domestic violence protective order as defined in Family Code 25 
section 6218 or Welfare and Institutions Code section 213.5, ex parte or after a noticed hearing, the court 26 
is required to order a restrained person “to relinquish any firearm in [that person’s] immediate possession 27 
or control or subject to [that person’s] immediate possession or control.” (Fam. Code, § 6389(c)(1).) 28 
Several mandatory Judicial Council forms—Temporary Restraining Order (form DV-110), Restraining 29 
Order After Hearing (form DV-130), and Notice of Hearing and Temporary Restraining Order—Juvenile 30 
(form JV-250)—include mandatory orders in bold type that the restrained person must sell to or store 31 
with a licensed gun dealer or turn in to a law enforcement agency any guns or other firearms within his or 32 
her immediate possession or control within 24 hours after service of the order and must file a receipt with 33 
the court showing compliance with the order within 48 hours of receiving the order. California law 34 
requires personal service of the request for and any temporary protective order at least five days before 35 
the hearing, unless the court issues an order shortening time for service. Therefore, by the date of the 36 
hearing, the restrained person should have relinquished, stored, or sold his or her firearms and submitted a 37 
receipt to the court.  38 
  39 
Courts are encouraged to develop local procedures to calendar firearm relinquishment review hearings for 40 
restrained persons.  41 
 42 
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Section (f) of this rule restates existing law on the safety and welfare of children and family members and 1 
recognizes the safety issues associated with the presence of prohibited firearms. 2 
 3 
Although this rule does not require the court to compel a restrained person to testify, the court may wish 4 
to advise a party of his or her privilege against self-incrimination under the Fifth Amendment to the 5 
United States Constitution. The court may also consider whether to grant use immunity under Family 6 
Code section 6389(d). 7 
 8 



W14-06 
Domestic Violence: Firearms Relinquishment in Family and Juvenile Law Restraining Order Cases (adopt Cal. Rules of Court, rule 
5.495) 
All comments are verbatim unless indicated by an asterisk (*) 

 

13      Positions:  A = Agree; AM = Agree if modified; N = Do not agree; N/I = Not indicated. 
 

 

 Commentator Position Comment Committee Response 
1.  San Diego Family Court 

Virginia S. Johnson, Staff Attorney 
 
NOTE:  All comments and 
recommendations in this document are 
submitted by Virginia S. Johnson, 
Staff Attorney for the San Diego 
Family Court, strictly as an individual 
in consultation with Judge Maureen F. 
Hallahan.  No comments or 
recommendations in this document are 
to be considered as being submitted, 
approved or endorsed by the San 
Diego Superior Court. 

N/I (b)(2) …Assist courts that have issued domestic 
violence protective orders to determine whether 
a restrained person has complied with the 
court’s order to relinquish, or sell or [store](This 
may have been an oversight.) the firearm under 
Family Code section 6389(c). 

 
(c)   Local Procedures and Pre-[emption](See 
comment below in Advisory Committee 
Comment.) 

(1).  Courts are encouraged to develop local 
procedures to insure the restrained person 
has no firearms or has complied with the 
order under Family Code section 6389(c). 

 
(2)  This rule of court is not intended to pre-
empt any local procedure or local rule 
created pursuant to the subsection above. 

 

(d)(3) If the court makes a finding determination 
(“Finding” would seem to be the more 
appropriate word.) that the restrained person has 
a firearm in violation of Family Code section 
6389, the court must make a written record of 
the finding determination and provide a copy of 
it to a party upon [request] (The procedure 
seems too vague which could result in a myriad 
of “written records” among the courts.  What is 
the purpose of the “written record”?) 

 
 

The committee agrees with this suggestion to add 
the word “store.” 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The commentator suggests moving the Advisory 
Committee Comment on local procedures to the 
rule. The committee has considered this comment 
and prefers to keep the text in the Advisory 
Committee Comment.  The suggested text is 
advisory in nature.  Further, the suggested text 
exceeds the scope of the rule and would need to 
be circulated to the public for comment.   
 
 
 
The committee notes that, although the terms are 
closely related, the committee prefers the term 
“determination” because changing the term in this 
one location could be confusing. 
 
The committee notes that the written record could 
be utilized by a party in a subsequent contempt 
proceeding or other action. 
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14      Positions:  A = Agree; AM = Agree if modified; N = Do not agree; N/I = Not indicated. 
 

 

 Commentator Position Comment Committee Response 
(e)(2) The review hearing must be held within 
five court days after the noticed hearing at 
which the information was presented. If the 
restrained person is not present when the court 
sets the review hearing, the protected person 
must provide [notice] (The type of notice should 
be specific.) of the review hearing to the 
restrained person at least two court days before 
the review hearing. 

(e)(4) The court must order the restrained 
person to appear at the review [hearing.] (The 
type of notice given above should take into 
consideration the order for the appearance.) 

Advisory Committee Comment 

Courts are encouraged to develop local 
procedures to calendar firearm relinquishment 
review hearings for restrained [persons.] (This is 
excellent.  Our court has an effective local 
procedure which should not be pre-empted by 
the new CRC.   To make this certain, suggest 
that the language actually be included in the rule 
rather than in the Advisory Committee 
Comment) 

The committee has incorporated service by mail 
into the rule. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The rule authorizes both types of service for 
flexibility. 
 
 
 
 
See response above. 

2.  Superior Court of Santa Clara County AM Overall I agree with the proposed rule.   



W14-06 
Domestic Violence: Firearms Relinquishment in Family and Juvenile Law Restraining Order Cases (adopt Cal. Rules of Court, rule 
5.495) 
All comments are verbatim unless indicated by an asterisk (*) 

 

15      Positions:  A = Agree; AM = Agree if modified; N = Do not agree; N/I = Not indicated. 
 

 

 Commentator Position Comment Committee Response 
Hon. L. Michael Clark 
Superior Court Judge 
Not on behalf of group 
 

 
However, I recommend that that 5.4881, 
subdivision (a), be modified to read: "This rule 
applies when a domestic violence protective 
order as defined in Family Code section 6218 or 
Welfare and Institutions Code section 213.5 is 
issued or in effect." 
 
Rationale: The firearm relinquishment rule 
should apply both to family and juvenile 
proceedings. 
 

 
The committee agrees to incorporate the 
suggestion to add Welfare and Institutions Code 
section 213.5. 

3.  Superior Court of Santa Clara County 
Christine Copeland 
Commissioner 
On behalf of group 

A 
 

Re: changes to CRC 5.488 and AOC's request 
for specific comments: 
 
If notice for the underlying hearing was proper 
(personal service) then I am not sure why any 
notice of a secondary, etc hearing is needed for 
restrained party re: relinquishment compliance.  
Had they appeared at the underlying hearing, 
then they would have/could have known about 
hearing #2 (relinquishment follow-up hearing).  
Alternatively, mail notice should be sufficient.  
Let's say that the review hearing is NOT set by 
the court (as the suggested rule proposes) but 
instead a protected party files a post RO hearing 
using an RFO to present evidence that restrained 
party hasn't relinquished (just assume it's not an 
OSC for contempt in family/DV court and/or 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The committee agrees to incorporate the 
suggestion for service by mail. 
 
 
 
 
 

                                                      
1 The rule was circulated for comment as rule 5.488. The committee recommends adding Chapter 4 to Division 2 of Title 5 of the California Rules of Court and to number the rule 
5.495. 
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All comments are verbatim unless indicated by an asterisk (*) 

 

16      Positions:  A = Agree; AM = Agree if modified; N = Do not agree; N/I = Not indicated. 
 

 

 Commentator Position Comment Committee Response 
assume it's not in criminal court for RO 
violation): in that instance, I would require RFO 
be filed at least 16 court days in advance, and 
via personal service. 
 
I don't think there would be cost-savings with 
the proposed CRC and additional court hearings 
on issue of relinquishment would no doubt add 
costs, but such are necessary to properly address 
the relinquishment requirement. 
 
Re: firearms relinquishment, I wonder if 
ammunition relinquishment is also a 
requirement and if so, that should be included. 

 
 
 
 
 
No response required. 
 
 
 
 
 
California law does not require relinquishment of 
ammunition.  
 
 
 

4.  Riverside County Probation Department 
Allison Paterson 
Executive Secretary 
On behalf of group 

N/I Family Court and Juvenile Court restraining 
orders are issued under FC 6218 and WIC 213.5 
(213.5(b) specifies delinquency court), 
respectively. Currently, there is no procedure 
for courts issuing those orders to determine 
whether a restrained person has complied with 
the court’s order to relinquish any firearms, as 
specified in FC 6389(c). 
 
The proposed modification is to create CRC 
5.488, which would provide guidance for the 
family/juvenile court to determine compliance 
with the relinquishment order. 
 
Department Response: After reviewing the rule, 
it essentially recommends a review hearing, 

No response required. 
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where the restrained person can present 
evidence he/she relinquished the firearm. If 
he/she does not, the court can consider that in its 
order for custody or visitation. 
 
As the minors we supervise are generally under 
the age of 18, and therefore unable to legally 
own/possess firearms; our interaction with 
restraining orders would probably come in the 
framework of a restrained parent. The above 
would primarily be conducted from the bench 
and have little impact on our department, aside 
from maybe the juvenile court officer, who 
would have to disseminate court proceedings to 
line staff. 
 
The request for comment had two specific 
questions relating to the proposed changes.  
 
They are: 
 
Question: Does the proposal appropriately 
address the stated purpose? 
 
Answer: From a juvenile court perspective, the 
wording appears sufficient. 
 
Question: In those cases where the court sets a 
review hearing, should the rule specify that the 
restrained person be notified by personal service 
or by mail? 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
No response required. 
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Answer: Mail should be sufficient. Our 
experience is that all parties are present at these 
hearings, so the court could directly give the 
person notice. If the person was not present, 
his/her address is typically in the social 
worker’s or probation officer’s report, so first 
class mail would seem adequate. 

The committee agrees to incorporate the 
suggestion for service by mail. 
 
 
 
 
 
 

5.  California Partnership to End 
Domestic Violence 
Krista Niemczyk 
Public Policy Manager 
On behalf of group 

N/I In response to the recent invitation to comment, 
the California Partnership to End Domestic 
Violence (the Partnership) respectfully submits 
the following feedback. As the federally 
recognized State Domestic Violence Coalition 
for California, representing over 200 
organizations and individuals statewide, united 
in their commitment to safety and justice for 
victims, we recognize the importance of updated 
and easily understood forms, and we thank you 
for your attention to these forms and for the 
opportunity to comment on the proposed 
changes. The proposed changes include several 
helpful updates, and we thank the Family and 
Juvenile Law Advisory Committee for these 
proposals. 
 
We greatly appreciate the Court’s attention to 
setting standards for firearm relinquishment and 
support the decision to set a statewide standard 
rather than relying solely on a local approach. 
Strengthening firearm relinquishment in 
domestic violence cases is essential to 
improving victim safety. Abusers who possess 

No response required. 
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guns tend to inflict the most severe abuse on 
their partners, and domestic violence victims 
residing in a house with firearms are five times 
more likely to be killed than victims living in 
gun-free homes. Guns are used in over half of 
all domestic violence homicides – more than all 
other weapons combined. 
 
While we broadly support the proposed rule, we 
would draw the Court’s attention to the 
proposed language in (e)(2), which as drafted 
states: 
 
The review hearing must be held within five 
court days after the noticed hearing at 
which the information was presented. If the 
restrained person is not present when the 
court sets the review hearing, the protected 
person must provide notice of the review 
hearing to the restrained person at least two 
court days before the review hearing. 
 
Given the lethal intersection of firearms and 
domestic violence, we are concerned with the 
victim’s safety if required to provide notice to 
the restrained person. The courts already allow 
victims to request that the sheriff or marshal 
notify the restrained person about an order at no 
cost, and we would encourage the courts to 
permit the same notice options for the 
subsequent review hearing and make that option 
clearly and explicitly available to victims. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The committee agrees to incorporate the 
suggestion for service by mail. 
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 Commentator Position Comment Committee Response 
Thank you for the opportunity to provide these 
comments. For additional information or 
questions, please contact Krista Niemczyk, 
Public Policy Manager, at Krista@cpedv.org or 
916-444-7163. 
 
 
 

6.  Los Angeles County Sheriff’s 
Department 
Court Services Division 
Civil Management Bureau 
Protective Order Section/Information 
Systems Section  
Marie Hazlett, HCRSC 
Not on behalf of group 
 

A I agree with the proposal and suggest in those 
cases where the court sets a review hearing, the 
rule should specify the restrained person be 
notified by mail. 

The committee agrees to incorporate the 
suggestion for service by mail. 
 

7.  Harriett Buhai Center for Family Law 
Meredith L. Alexander, Staff Attorney 
On behalf of group 
 

AM Proposed Changes to Rule 5.488 
 
Item (b), the phrase “various points during a 
family or juvenile law matter” is vague and 
unclear. The specific points at which 
information relevant to firearm relinquishment 
can be presented should be clarified. 
 
Item (d)(2), the word “any” should be added, so 
that the rule reads, “or at any subsequent family 
or juvenile law hearing while the order remains 
in effect.” 
 
Item (d)(3), we believe that both parties should 
be provided with a copy of the determination 

 
 
The committee agrees to delete “at various points” 
and to incorporate the suggestion into the rule. 
 
 
 
 
The committee agrees to incorporate the 
suggestion. 
 
 
 
The committee agrees to incorporate the 
suggestion, with minor variation, into the 
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that the restrained person has a firearm. A self-
represented litigant would not know to ask for 
this on his or her own. 
 
Item (e)(2), for safety reasons, we believe that 
the notice from the protected person to the 
restrained person should be by mail. Personal 
service would be inappropriate because it is 
sometimes difficult to find people, the situation 
could potentially become dangerous, or more 
conflict could arise from the personal service. 
 
Item (e)(3), we believe that this item should 
either be deleted or further clarified. It could be 
very dangerous or even fatal for the court to 
extend the date of the hearing when a firearm is 
involved. Thus, it would be safer to specify 
what particular types of situations would 
constitute “good cause” for an extension of the 
review date. 
 
Item (e)(5), in the event that the review hearing 
is conducted in the absence of the protected 
person, it should be included that notice must 
still be given to the protected person. 
 
 
Item (f)(4) & (5), these items do not belong 
under the heading “Child custody and visitation 
and other orders.” Instead, they should be under 
their own heading after “Subsequent review 
hearing” called “Ramifications for violations of 

recommendation. 
 
 
 
The committee agrees to incorporate the 
suggestion for service by mail into the 
recommendation. 
 
 
 
 
 
The committee notes that a good cause finding is 
fact based. It is difficult to enumerate all potential 
circumstances in a rule.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
The committee notes that the protected person 
will have been at the initial hearing when review 
hearing date was set.  This provision specifies that 
the protected person need not be present at the 
review hearing. 
 
The committee agrees to incorporate the 
suggestion to separate the non-custody remedies 
into a separate subsection. 



W14-06 
Domestic Violence: Firearms Relinquishment in Family and Juvenile Law Restraining Order Cases (adopt Cal. Rules of Court, rule 
5.495) 
All comments are verbatim unless indicated by an asterisk (*) 

 

22      Positions:  A = Agree; AM = Agree if modified; N = Do not agree; N/I = Not indicated. 
 

 

 Commentator Position Comment Committee Response 
firearm relinquishment.” 
 

8.  Superior Court of Shasta County  
Stacy Larson, Family Law Facilitator 
Not on behalf of group 
 

AM Clarification of the Court’s role enforcing the 
firearm relinquishment is much needed—I hope 
there are correlating statutes pertaining to elder 
abuse/dependent adult, workplace violence, 
civil harassment, and other types of restraining 
orders, which have similar needs. 
Most courts, like ours, are hopelessly 
overwhelmed with hearings and lack 
courtrooms as well as bench officers to handle 
the hearings.  Absent resources to comply with 
this statute’s requirements of holding a hearing 
in a timely manner, it will serve little purpose.  
Litigants who know enough to ask for a hearing 
on this issue will not be granted a hearing unless 
there are courtrooms and bench officers 
available for the hearings to occur.  If denied 
their hearings, the litigants’ options include 
writs, appeals, etc.  The majority are self-
represented and are unable to pursue these 
avenues without legal assistance, which is not 
available to them.  The courts need adequate 
resources to ensure that these self-represented 
litigants’ rights are protected and honored. 
 

This suggestion would require circulation for 
public comment and will be considered by the 
applicable advisory committees.   

9.  The State Bar of California 
Family Law Section 
The Executive Committee of the Family 
Law Section of the State Bar of 
California 
On behalf of group 

AM The Executive Committee of the Family Law 
Section of the State Bar (FLEXCOM) supports 
Proposal W14-06 with the amendments set forth 
below. 
 
Date position taken:  January 13, 2014 
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Contacts: 
 
Andrew Cain 
Legal Advocates for Children and 
Youth 
 
 
Saul Bercovitch 
Legislative Counsel 
The State Bar of California 
 
DISCLAIMER: 
 
This position is only that of the 
FAMILY LAW SECTION of the State 
Bar of California.  This position has not 
been adopted by either the State Bar's 
Board of Governors or overall 
membership, and is not to be construed 
as representing the position of the State 
Bar of California. 
 
Membership in the FAMILY LAW 
SECTION is voluntary and funding for 
section activities, including all 
legislative activities, is obtained entirely 
from voluntary sources. 

Executive Committee vote:  11-0-0 
 
Basis for Position: 
 
FLEXCOM supports the proposal to create a 
process to review whether restrained parties 
have surrendered any firearms.  The proposed 
rule creates a consistent mechanism that 
institutionalizes the enforcement of firearm 
relinquishment by requiring a court to determine 
whether a person is in violation of Family Code 
section 6389 once a court has information that a 
person may be in violation, and to set a hearing 
within 5 days if the court does not determine 
this at the initial noticed hearing on the 
restraining order. 
 
 
As to whether the restrained party should be 
notified in person or by mail of any subsequent 
review hearing on the firearm relinquishment if 
they are not present in court when the hearing is 
set, FLEXCOM believes the ordinary rules of 
service should apply.  If the notice is contained 
in a restraining order after hearing that must be 
served personally, then the notice should be 
served personally.  If the notice is contained in a 
restraining order or other order that may be 
served by mail, then the notice may be served 
by mail.  However, if the order is served by 
mail, the court would need to set the hearing out 
by more than 5 days.  Otherwise, there would 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The committee has considered the suggestion and 
recommends incorporating service of the notice of 
a review hearing by mail. The restrained person 
has already been personally served with notice of 
the initial hearing. Accordingly, the committee 
recommends extending the time for the review 
hearing to 10 days after the noticed hearing. 
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 Commentator Position Comment Committee Response 
not be sufficient time to perfect service by mail, 
since Code of Civil Procedure section 1013(a) 
requires adding an additional 5 days for service 
when mailed in California. 
 
We recommend the following language be 
added to proposed Rule of Court 5.488(e)(2): 
 
The review hearing must be held within five 
court days after the noticed hearing at which the 
information was presented, if the notice of the 
review hearing is to be served personally, or 
within ten court days if the notice is to be served 
by mail.  The notice of the review hearing may 
be served by mail if it is part of a restraining 
order which may be served by mail pursuant to 
Family Code section 6384(a) or it is part of any 
other Order After Hearing which may be served 
by mail. 
 

 
 
 
 

10. Superior Court of Los Angeles 
On behalf of group 

AM Rule 5.488 (c) Firearm determination states that 
“When relevant information is presented to the 
court at any noticed hearing that a restraining 
person has a firearm….” 
(d) Determination procedures states “(2)The 
court may make the determination at the time a 
domestic violence protective order is issued…” 
 
Although it appears that the section (d) 
Determination procedures is intended to clarify 
section (c) Firearm Determination, it is unclear 
whether this section refers to only noticed 

The committee agrees to clarify that section (d) is 
applicable only at a noticed hearing.  
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hearings, as domestic violence protective orders 
are frequently issued without notice at an ex 
parte hearing. 

 
Rule 5.488(e) Subsequent review hearing states 
“(2) The review hearing must be held within 
five court days after the noticed hearing at 
which the information was presented. If the 
restrained person is not present when the court 
sets the review hearing, the protected person 
must provide notice of the review hearing to the 
restrained person at least two court days before 
the review hearing.” 
 
This section appears to put an undue burden and 
risk on the protected party. Presumably the 
review hearing would be set when it is alleged 
that the restrained party has a firearm, and has 
not filed proof with the court of having turned 
in, sold or stored that firearm. The review 
hearing being set within 5 days would mandate 
that notice of the hearing would be by personal 
service, and the short notice period would 
generally preclude service by sheriff. This 
would mean that a friend or family member of 
the protected party would need to go to the 
home of the restrained party who is alleged to 
have a firearm, yet has refused to surrender it – 
to personally serve notice to that person. Given 
the circumstances, it seems like it may be an 
unwise risk to undertake. 
 

 
 
 
 
The committee agrees to incorporate the 
suggestion to allow service by mail.   
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If in fact it is contemplated that armed law 
enforcement would be required to serve notice 
of the review hearing, what procedures would 
be put in place to carry this out? Currently, 
service of process by the sheriff is carried out by 
civilian sheriff staff with a delay of up to 2 
weeks to process the service request. 
 
Rule 5.488 (e) states “(5) The court may 
conduct the review hearing in the absence of the 
protected person.” 

 
If the protected party is not present, this would 
require the judicial officer to question the 
respondent, thereby placing the judicial officer 
in the role of investigator rather than neutral 
arbiter. 
 
 
Rule 5.488 (f) Child custody and visitation and 
other orders states “(1) If the court determines 
that the restrained person has a firearm in 
violation of Family Code section 6389, the court 
must consider that determination when deciding 
whether the restrained person has overcome the 
presumption in Family Code section 3044”. 
 
The phrasing “when deciding whether …” 
seems to mean that the requirement for the court 
to consider this determination is meant to be 
triggered only when custody/visitation has been 
put at issue by one of the parties. However, we 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The committee has considered this comment and 
notes that the judicial officer is not required to 
question the respondent.  The judicial officer is 
required to consider the information presented. 
This could include information previously 
presented by the protected person. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The committee agrees to incorporate the 
suggestion by moving former sub-sections (f)(4)-
(5) into new subsection (g). 
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think it should be stated more clearly to avoid 
any misinterpretation that this rule might require 
the court to consider such a determination even 
when initial or modified custody/visitation 
orders have not been requested or placed at 
issue by either party. 
 
 
Rule 5.488 (f) (4) Order to Show Cause for 
Contempt or Money Sanctions. 
 
Either request for relief appears to place an 
undue burden on the protected party to bring a 
rather legally technical hearing, such as for 
contempt, without appearing to provide any 
immediate relief of removing the firearm from 
the restrained party who has not relinquished it. 
Is there any assistance or remedy contemplated 
through the police or criminal court? 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The committee notes that the protected person 
may alert law enforcement of the court’s 
determination. The protected person may submit 
the court’s determination under (d)(3) to initiate a 
criminal justice response, in addition to or instead 
of a civil contempt proceeding. 

11. Orange County Bar Association 
Thomas H. Bienert, Jr., President 
On behalf of group 
 

A No narrative comments submitted. No response required. 
 
 
 
 

12. Superior Court of California, County of 
San Diego 
Mike Roddy, Executive Officer 
On behalf of group 

AM Restraining orders in juvenile court cases are 
governed primarily by Welfare and Institutions 
Code section § 213.5 and rule 5.630 of the 
California Rules of Court.  It would be helpful 
to add something in Rule 5.630 about firearm 
relinquishment, even if it is just a reference to 
Rule 5.488. 
 

The committee has revised rule 5.630 to reference 
rule 5.495 (renumbered from 5.488 after comment 
period). 
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 Does the proposal appropriately address 

the stated purpose?  For the most part. 
 
 In those cases where the court sets a review 

hearing, should the rule specify that the 
restrained person be notified by personal 
service or by mail?  

 
The proposed rule reads: “The review hearing 
must be held within five court days after the 
noticed hearing at which the information was 
presented. If the restrained person is not present 
when the court sets the review hearing, the 
protected person must provide notice of the 
review hearing to the restrained person at least 
two court days before the review hearing.”  
(CRC, rule 5.488(e)(2).) 

First, why is the responsibility for providing 
notice to the restrained person placed on the 
protected person?  (See CCP § 414.10 [TRO 
and order after hearing must be served by adult 
non-party].)  Second, assuming the protected 
person is required to serve notice, wouldn’t 
personal service place the protected person at 
risk? For this reason, service should be by mail.  
 
Rule 5.488(e) Subsequent review hearing  
 
(1) … 
 
(2) The review hearing must be held within five 

 
No response required. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The committee agrees to incorporate the 
suggestion to allow service by mail and, as a 
result, to lengthen the period of time between the 
noticed hearing and the review hearing to 10 days. 
Standard service rules apply.  The committee 
agrees to add a reference to Code of Civ. Proc. 
414.10. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
See response above. 
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court days after the noticed hearing at 
which the information was presented. If 
the restrained person is not present when 
the court sets the review hearing, the 
protected person must provide notice of 
the review hearing to the restrained 
person at least two court days before the 
review hearing.  

 
Why is the responsibility for providing notice of 
the review hearing to the restrained person 
placed on the protected person?  (See CCP § 
414.10 [TRO and order after hearing must be 
served by adult non-party].)  Couldn’t this place 
the protected person at risk?   
 
 

Advisory Committee Comment 
 
. . . California law requires personal service of 
the request [it is not clear what type of 
“request” this is referring to; suggest adding 
“for protective order”] and any temporary 
protective order at least five days before the 
hearing, unless the court issues an order 
shortening time for service. Therefore, by the 
date of the hearing, the restrained person should 
have relinquished, stored, or sold his or her 
firearms and submitted a receipt to the court.  
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The committee agrees to clarify that the request is 
for a temporary order. 

13. Joint Rules Working Group 
Judicial Council and Court Leadership 

AM TCPJAC/CEAC Joint Rules Working Group 

Comment 
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Services Division 
Judicial Council of California - 
Administrative Office of the Courts 
Claudia Ortega, Senior Court Services 
Analyst 
On behalf of group. 

 
Impact on existing automated systems (e.g., 
case management system, accounting system, 
technology infrastructure or security equipment, 
Jury Plus/ACS, etc.)   
The courts will need to create new event codes, 
docket codes, and wording for minute orders. 
 
Increases court staff workload 
The proposal will increase court staff workload 
in the following ways: 

 Expedite processing of receipts for 
input and imaging; 

 Prepare calendars for firearm 
relinquishment review hearings, 
including file reviews for Proofs of 
Service and Relinquishment Receipts.  

 Provide judicial officers with printouts 
of the CLETS, AFS and CARPOS 
reports. 

 
Impact on local or statewide justice partners 
Juvenile Impact - County welfare and Probation 
departments will need to research and inform 
the courts when restrained parties own/possess 
firearms in violation of Family Code section 
6389.  If OCS re: contempt is pursued, there 
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may also need to be prepared affidavits to 
pursue the contempt.   
 
Other 

1. Proposed rule 5.488(c) Firearm 
determination states “When relevant 
information is presented to the court at 
any noticed hearing that a restraining 
person has a firearm….”    
(d)(2) Determination procedures 
states “The court may make the 
determination at the time a domestic 
violence protective order is issued…”    
 
Although it appears that the section (d) 
Determination procedures is intended to 
clarify section (c) Firearm 
Determination, it is unclear whether this 
section refers to only noticed hearings, 
as domestic violence protective orders 
are frequently issued without notice at 
an ex parte hearing.   
 

2. Proposed rule 5.488(e)(2) Subsequent 
review hearing states “The review 
hearing must be held within five court 
days after the noticed hearing at which 

 
 
 
 
 

1. The committee agrees to clarify that 
section (d) is applicable only at a noticed 
hearing. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

2. The committee agrees to incorporate the 
suggestion to require service by mail. 
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the information was presented.   If the 
restrained person is not present when 
the court sets the review hearing, the 
protected person must provide notice of 
the review hearing to the restrained 
person at least two court days before the 
review hearing.”    
This section appears to put an undue 
burden and risk on the protected party.   
Presumably the review hearing would 
be set when it is alleged that the 
restrained party has a firearm, and has 
not filed proof with the court of having 
turned in, sold or stored that firearm.  
The review hearing being set within 5 
days would mandate that notice of the 
hearing would be by personal service, 
and the short notice period would 
generally preclude service by sheriff.  
This would mean that a friend or family 
member of the protected party would 
need to go to the home of the restrained 
party who is alleged to have a firearm, 
yet has refused to surrender it – to 
personally serve notice to that person.  
Given the circumstances, it seems like it 
may be an unwise risk to undertake. 
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If in fact it is contemplated that armed 
law enforcement would be required to 
serve notice of the review hearing, what 
procedures would be put in place to 
carry this out?   Currently, service of 
process by the sheriff is carried out by 
civilian sheriff staff with a delay of up 
to 2 weeks to process the service 
request. 
 

3. Proposed rule 5.488(e)(5) Subsequent 
review hearing states “The court may 
conduct the review hearing in the 
absence of the protected person.”   
 
If the protected party is not present, this 
would require the judicial officer to 
question the respondent, thereby placing 
the judicial officer in the role of 
investigator rather than neutral arbiter.   

 
4. Proposed rule 5.488(f)(1) Child 

custody and visitation and other 
orders states “If the court determines 
that the restrained person has a firearm 
in violation of Family Code section 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

3. The committee has considered this 
comment and notes that the rule does not 
require the court to question the 
respondent.  The judicial officer is only 
required to consider the information 
presented.  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

4. The committee agrees to incorporate the 
suggestion by moving former sub-sections 
(f)(4)-(5) into section (g). 
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34      Positions:  A = Agree; AM = Agree if modified; N = Do not agree; N/I = Not indicated. 
 

 

 Commentator Position Comment Committee Response 

6389, the court must consider that 
determination when deciding whether 
the restrained person has overcome the 
presumption in Family Code section 
3044.” 
   
 
The phrasing “when deciding whether 
…” seems to mean that the requirement 
for the court to consider this 
determination is meant to be triggered 
only when custody/visitation has been 
put at issue by one of the parties.  
However, we think it should be stated 
more clearly to avoid any 
misinterpretation that this rule might 
require the court to consider such a 
determination even when initial or 
modified custody/visitation orders have 
not been requested or placed at issue by 
either party.   

 
5. Regarding proposed rule 5.488 (f)(4) 

Order to Show Cause for Contempt 
or Money Sanctions, either request for 
relief appears to place an undue burden 
on the protected party to bring a rather 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

5. The committee notes that the protected 
person may alert law enforcement of the 
court’s determination. The protected 
person may submit the court’s 
determination under (d)(3) to initiate a 
criminal justice response, in addition to or 
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35      Positions:  A = Agree; AM = Agree if modified; N = Do not agree; N/I = Not indicated. 
 

 

 Commentator Position Comment Committee Response 

legally technical hearing, such as for 
contempt, without appearing to provide 
any immediate relief of removing the 
firearm from the restrained party who 
has not relinquished it.   Is there any 
assistance or remedy contemplated 
through the police or criminal court? 

6. Suggested modifications 
In addition to addressing the issues 
raised above, the Joint Rules Working 
Group requests the following suggested 
modifications: 
(a) Add a requirement for Probation to 

file receipt for relinquishment if 
they seize firearms.  

(b) Modify to require that Notice of 
Hearing to Restrained Person under 
Rule 5.488(e)(2) be provided by 
protected person, child welfare or 
probation department in Juvenile 
instead of exclusively by protected 
person. 

instead of a civil contempt proceeding. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

(a) The committee notes that the suggestion 
exceeds the scope of the rule which only 
addresses court procedures. The 
suggestion would require circulation for 
public comment. 

 
(b) The suggestion creates additional duties 

by other agencies and would therefore 
need to be circulated for public comment. 
The committee will consider this 
suggestion if the rule is later modified. 

 


