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Child Support Program
Background for Court Clerks

What is Title IV-D?

« Title IV-D of the Social Security Act
(Federal Law)

« Requires each state to provide services to
the public to establish parentage and get
and enforce child support orders

» Provides federal funding to states to
assist with the cost of the program




Child Support Program
Background

« Historical Background

Title IV-D Performance Problems in

California
Current system of establishing child
support was inadequate
Needed system that was quick & efficient
Lack of uniformity of policies and
procedures among courts/child support
agencies

California Title IV-D Reform of
the Courts

« 1996 Legislative Enactment of AB 1058

Established the Child Support Commissioner
and Family Law Facilitator Program

Creation of specialized child support
commissioners

Simplified procedures and forms

Allowed federal and state funds to be
leveraged for IV-D cases.
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AB 1058 Program Realized

Child support commissioners/family law
facilitators in each county

Specialized court procedures that are
streamlined and unique to Title IV-D

Created specialized rules & forms

Set up minimum qualifications for staff and
standard training requirements




Court Clerk Training
Requirement

« California Rule of Court 5.355 Minimum
standard of training for court clerk staff
whose assignment includes Title IV-D
child support cases

California Rule of Court 5.355

Court clerk

Assignment includes Title IV-D child support
cases

Minimum of 6 hours annually

Federal & state laws concerning child support
and related issues

Specialized Court Procedures
for IV-D Cases

Proposed Judgment Process
Amended Proposed Judgment
Limitations on review of default judgments

Confidential proof of service (redaction of
addresses)

Objection to Child Support Commissioner vs.
Stipulation to Commissioner

Notice Regarding Payment of Support




Title IV-D Funding

California Department of Child Support Services is the
single state-level IV-D agency. All program funding
flows through DCSS

Program is 2/3 federal Title IV-D funds & 1/3 state
funds

DCSS contracts with the JCC to provide child support
court services. JCC then contracts with each court
What do the courts and the JCC have to do to keep
this funding?

Keep accurate records including having each person who works
on the child support program keep accurate time records.
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Requirement for Documenting
Time Traditional Method

» Purpose is to make sure that grant funding is
going to pay for grant-related activities

o Timesheet must reflect ALL time worked by
staff, whether or not the time is spent on the
1V-D program

« This is known as “100% positive reporting”
and is required by federal regulations

- Other program names can be inserted into the form to track time
worked on those programs
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Alternative Timekeeping
Methodology Rolling Time Study

« On an annual basis courts will have the option to use:
Traditional timekeeping method (100% positive reporting), or
Rolling Time Studies

« With Rolling Time Studies AB1058 court staff will:
Track all time working during the one week reporting period

Using the specific RTS timesheets (one for CSC program and one
for FLF program)

Reporting period will be 4 weeks per quarter

Data will be extrapolated for the entire quarter to calculate how
much time can be billed to the grant

Rules & Forms
General Overview

Who can come up-with-ideas for rules &
forms?

What is the process for review and
approval?

What is the timeline?




Rules & Forms
Governmental Forms

« Special role of these forms given the volume
of IV-D cases; numbers of self-represented
litigants and the DCSS statewide automated
environment

« Role of Local Agencies in forms
development and review

« Special concerns
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What is New in Rules &
Forms?

Sunsetting of Family Code 4007.5
Registration of Support Order
New FL-445, Revise FL-570 and FL-575

AB2684 Changes to Parentage Rules and

Forms

Duty of Judge to Hear AB1058 Matters
Rule 5.305(b)

Fees & Costs in Title IV-D Cases

« Exemption of Child Support Agency from
payment of fees and costs (Government Codes
6103.9)

« No fee to file response or subsequent paper in
action brought by DCSS (Government Code
70672)

+ What about Requests for Hearing on Wage
Assignment? (CRC 5.335(c))




Plans of Cooperation

- Required by the funding contract between
JCC/court

- Can set out local case/form processing timelines

- Requires quarterly POC meeting between court
and agency

- How can this be used to benefit case/forms
processing and effective local court procedures.

Time Standards Required by
the Contract

Minimum Time Standards:

» LCSA documents must filed and processed
within ten (10) Court working days or
immediately in exceptional circumstances.
LCSA documents which require a Court
hearing must processed within five (5) Court
days of the submission.

More timely processing of FL-191
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Program Questions?




