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Proposed Rules, Forms, Standards, or Statutes  

Amend Cal. Rules of Court, rules 3.817, 
3.818, 3.819, 3.825, 3.826, 3.827, 3.829, and 
3.1390 
 
Proposed by 
Civil and Small Claims Advisory Committee 
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Review and submit comments by Monday, 
June 20, 2011 
 
Proposed Effective Date 

January 1, 2012 
 
Contact 

Heather Anderson, 415-865-7691 
heather.anderson@jud.ca.gov  

 
Summary  
This proposal would conform the rules relating to the judicial arbitration program to proposed 
statutory changes that are expected to take effect on January 1, 2012. In addition, this proposal 
would require parties in cases assigned to judicial arbitration or another court-connected 
alternative dispute resolution (ADR) program to serve the arbitrator or other ADR neutral with 
any notice of entry of dismissal and would specify the duties of an arbitrator in the judicial 
arbitration program when a notice of settlement or notice of entry of a dismissal is filed at 
various stages in the arbitration proceedings. 
 
Discussion  
California Code of Civil Procedure sections 1141–1141.31 establish the judicial arbitration 
program, a court-connected, nonbinding arbitration program for civil cases valued at $50,000 or 
less. Courts with 18 or more judges are required to have this program for unlimited civil cases, 
and it is optional for courts with fewer than 18 judges and for limited civil cases. (Code Civ. 
Proc., § 1141.11.) Under the current judicial arbitration statutes, the parties have 30 days after 
the arbitrator files his or her award to request a trial de novo or the arbitrator’s award will be 
entered as the judgment of the court. (See Code Civ. Proc., §§ 1141.20, 1141.23.) Last year, the 
Civil and Small Claims Advisory Committee recommended that the Judicial Council sponsor 
legislation to amend these statutes to encourage settlement and reduce the number of trial de 
novo requests following judicial arbitration by (1) giving parties 60, rather than 30, days to file a 
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request for a trial de novo; and (2) providing that filing a request for dismissal during this time 
period will also prevent entry of the arbitrator’s award as the judgment of the court. The Judicial 
Council agreed to sponsor this legislation, a bill to make these statutory changes has been 
introduced,1

 
 and if enacted, will take effect on January 1, 2012. 

Rules 3.810 –3.830 of the California Rules of Court establish procedures for the judicial 
arbitration program. If the proposed legislation is enacted, these rules will need to be amended 
effective January 1, 2012, to reflect the amended statutes.2

 

 This proposal would amend the rules 
to reflect the anticipated new 60-day period for requesting a trial de novo and the new provision 
establishing that the filing of a request for dismissal will also prevent entry of the arbitrator’s 
award as the judgment. In addition, this proposal would establish requirements for the form of a 
request for dismissal for this purpose.  

In some cases, parties may settle or dismiss a case assigned to judicial arbitration or to another 
court-connected ADR program before the ADR process has been completed. It is helpful for 
ADR neutrals involved in these programs to be kept apprised of the status of cases in which they 
are serving. Rule 3.1385 already requires that a party serve a copy of any notice of settlement on 
any arbitrator or other court-connected ADR neutral involved in the case. The rules do not 
currently require, however, that parties serve such neutrals with copies of a notice of entry of 
dismissal. This proposal would fill that gap by requiring service of these documents on any 
arbitrator or other court-connected ADR neutral involved in the case. 
 
Currently, the rules concerning the judicial arbitration program do not specify what, if anything, 
an arbitrator should do if he or she receives a notice of settlement or if the case is dismissed. This 
proposal would fill that gap by specifying the duties of these arbitrators when a notice of 
settlement or notice of entry of a dismissal is filed at various stages in the arbitration 
proceedings. Among other things, this proposal would provide that if a notice of settlement is 
filed before the arbitration hearing is held, the hearing must be scheduled after the deadline for 
the party to file a request for dismissal.3

 

 This will prevent unnecessary arbitration hearings but 
also ensure that the case proceeds appropriately if a dismissal is not ultimately requested. In 
addition, because the dismissal of a case is a more reliable indicator that the case has ended than 
a notice of settlement, this proposal would change the current provision regarding the time when 
arbitrators may request compensation to provide that compensation can be requested either after 
the award has been filed or after notice of entry of dismissal has been filed, rather than after 
notice of settlement has been filed. 

                                                 
1 Senate Bill 731, introduced February 11, 2011. 
2 If Senate Bill 731 is not enacted, no changes would be proposed to these rules.  
3 Under rule 3.1385, a party who files a notice of settlement must generally file a request for dismissal no later than 
45 days after filing the notice of settlement. 



Rule 3.817, 3.818, 3.819, 3.825, 3.826, 3.827, 3.829 and 3.1390 of the California Rules 
of Court would be amended, effective January 1, 2012, to read: 

3 

Title 3. Civil Rules 1 
 2 

Division 8. Alternative Dispute Resolution 3 
 4 

Chapter 2. Judicial Arbitration 5 
 6 
Rule 3.817. Arbitration hearings; notice; when and where held 7 
 8 
(a) Setting hearing; notice 9 
 10 

(1) Except as provided in (2), within 15 days after the appointment of the 11 
arbitrator, the arbitrator must set the time, date, and place of the arbitration 12 
hearing and notify each party and the administrator in writing of the time, 13 
date, and place set.  14 

 15 
(2) If, before a hearing has been set, the plaintiff files a notice of entry of 16 

dismissal of the entire case or as to all parties to the arbitration, the arbitrator 17 
must not set a hearing. 18 

 19 
(b) Date of hearing; limitations 20 
 21 

(1) Except upon the agreement of all parties and the arbitrator, the arbitration 22 
hearing date must not be set:  23 

 24 
(1)(A) Earlier than 30 days after the date the arbitrator sends the notice of the 25 

hearing under (a); or 26 
 27 

(2)(B) On Saturdays, Sundays, or legal holidays.  28 
 29 

(2) If the plaintiff files a notice of settlement as required under rule 3.829, the 30 
hearing must be set or, if already set, must be reset, for a date no earlier than 31 
5 days after the date on which the party is required to file a request for 32 
dismissal. If the plaintiff files a notice of entry of dismissal of the entire case 33 
or as to all parties to the arbitration, the hearing must be canceled. 34 

 35 
(c) Hearing completion deadline 36 
 37 

Except as provided in (b)(2), the hearing must be scheduled so as to be completed 38 
no later than 90 days from the date of the assignment of the case to the arbitrator, 39 
including any time due to continuances granted under rule 3.818.  40 

 41 
(d)  * * * 42 
  43 
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Rule 3.818. Continuances 1 
 2 
(a)–(b) * * * 3 
 4 
(c) Limitation on length of continuance  5 
 6 

An arbitration hearing must not be continued to a date later than 90 days after the 7 
assignment of the case to the arbitrator the hearing completion deadlines specified 8 
in rule 3.817(c), including any time due to continuances granted under this rule, 9 
except by order of the court upon the motion of a party as provided in (b). 10 

 11 
 12 
Rule 3.819. Arbitrator’s fees 13 
 14 
(a) Filing of award or notice of settlement required 15 
 16 

The arbitrator’s award must be timely filed with the clerk of the court under rule 17 
3.825(b) or a notice of settlement entry of dismissal must have been filed before a 18 
fee may be paid to the arbitrator. 19 

 20 
(b)  * * * 21 
 22 
(c) Arbitrator’s fee statement 23 
 24 

The arbitrator’s fee statement must be submitted to the administrator promptly 25 
upon the completion of the arbitrator’s duties and must set forth the title and 26 
number of the cause arbitrated, the date of the arbitration hearing, and the date the 27 
award or settlement notice of entry of dismissal was filed. 28 

 29 
 30 
Rule 3.825. The award 31 
 32 
(a)  * * * 33 
 34 
(b) Filing the award or amended award 35 
 36 

(1) Time for filing the award 37 
.  38 

(A) Except as provided in (B) and (C), within 10 days after the conclusion 39 
of the arbitration hearing, the arbitrator must file the award with the 40 
clerk, with proof of service on each party to the arbitration.  41 

 42 
(B) On the arbitrator’s application in cases of unusual length or complexity, 43 

the court may allow up to 20 additional days for the filing and service 44 
of the award. 45 

 46 
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(C) If, before the award has been filed, the plaintiff files a notice of entry of 1 
dismissal of the entire case or as to all parties to the arbitration, the 2 
arbitrator must not file the award. 3 

 4 
(2) * * *  5 

 6 
 7 
Rule 3.826. Trial after arbitration 8 
 9 
(a) Request for trial; deadline 10 
 11 

Within 30 60 days after the arbitration award is filed with the clerk of the court, a 12 
party may request a trial by filing with the clerk a request for trial, with proof of 13 
service of a copy upon all other parties appearing in the case. A request for trial 14 
filed after the parties have been served with a copy of the award by the arbitrator, 15 
but before the award has been filed with the clerk, is valid and timely filed. The 30 16 
60-day period within which to request trial may not be extended. 17 

 18 
(b)–(d) * * *  19 
 20 
 21 
Rule 3.827. Entry of award as judgment 22 
 23 
(a) Entry of award as judgment by clerk 24 
 25 

The clerk must enter the award as a judgment immediately upon the expiration of 26 
30 60 days after the award is filed if no party has, during that period, served and 27 
filed either: 28 
 29 
(1) A request for trial as provided in these rules.; or  30 
 31 
(2) A Request for Dismissal (form CIV-110) of the entire case or as to all parties 32 

to the arbitration. The Request for Dismissal must be fully completed and 33 
must include the signatures of all those whose consent is required for 34 
dismissal.  35 

 36 
(b)–(c) * * * 37 
 38 
 39 
Rule 3.829. Settlement of case 40 
 41 
(a) Notice of settlement 42 
 43 

If a case is settled, each plaintiff or other party seeking affirmative relief must 44 
notify serve notice of settlement on all parties and the arbitrator and the court file 45 
that notice as required in rule 3.1385.  46 
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 1 
(b) Notice of entry of dismissal 2 
 3 

A party that files a notice of entry of dismissal must serve a copy of that notice on 4 
the arbitrator as required in rule 3.1390. 5 

 6 
 7 
 8 

Division 13. Dismissal of Actions 9 
 10 
 11 
Rule 3.1390. Service and filing of notice of entry of dismissal 12 
 13 
A party that requests dismissal of an action must serve on all parties and file notice of 14 
entry of the dismissal on all parties and any arbitrator or other court-connected alternative 15 
dispute resolution (ADR) neutral involved in the case and file this notice. 16 

 17 



Circulation for comment does not imply endorsement by the Judicial Council or the Rules and 
Projects Committee. All comments will become part of the public record of the council’s action. 

Item SPR11-01    Response Form 
 
Title: Alternative Dispute Resolution: Judicial Arbitration (amend Cal. Rules of 

Court, rules 3.817, 3.818, 3.819, 3.825, 3.826, 3.827, 3.829, and 3.139) 

    Agree with proposed changes 
 

    Agree with proposed changes if modified 
 

    Do not agree with proposed changes 
 

Comments:             
 
              
 
              
 
              
 
              
 
              
 
              
 
              
 
 

Name:      Title:       
 
Organization:            
 
  Commenting on behalf of an organization 
 
Address:             
 
City, State, Zip:            
 

To Submit Comments 
Comments may be submitted online, written on this form, or prepared in a letter format. If you 
are not commenting directly on this form, please include the information requested above and 
the proposal number for identification purposes. Please submit your comments online or email, 
mail, or fax comments. You are welcome to email your comments as an attachment. 
 

Internet: www.courts.ca.gov/policyadmin-invitationstocomment.htm 
 

Email:  invitations@jud.ca.gov  
Mail:  Ms. Camilla Kieliger 
  Judicial Council, 455 Golden Gate Avenue 
  San Francisco, CA  94102 
Fax:  (415) 865-7664, Attn: Camilla Kieliger 
 

DEADLINE FOR COMMENT:  5:00 p.m., Monday, June 20, 2011 
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