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I. INTRODUCTION

To be exempt from payment of mandatory overtime‘wages under the so-called
“commissioned sales” exemption of Wage Order Section 3(D) an employee’s earnings
must “exceed one and one-half (1 1/2) times the minimum wage,” or $12.00 per hour. In
most of Plaintiff-Petitioner’s bi-weekly pay periods however she earned less than $8.55
per hour worked. This affirmative exemption defense is therefore only available to
Plaintiff’s employer, Time Warner Cable (“TWC”), to the extent that it is permitted to
-reallocate commission wages earned in later pay periods toward the prior substandard pay
periods. Reallocating and averaging wages in this manner is also the only means by
which TWC may avoid liability for non-payment of the baée minimum wage of $8.00 per

hour in all pay periods.

Under well-established principles of California wage law, however, an employee’s
seven-day workweek and bi-weekly pay period are the time periods over which these
minimum compensatidn thresholds must be earned and paid, respectively. This creates a
bright-line rule which may be easily assessed based on the statutorily required pay
statements applicable to each individual pay period. Requiring compliance in each
workweek and pay period is also consistent with the remedial goal of ensuring consistent,
subsistence-level wage payments to employees. It is also consistent with the reporting
provisions of the Labor Code which are calculated to allow employees, courts, and
enforcement agencies to easily assess whether minimum labor standards have been

satisfied in each pay period.



By contrast, assessing compliance according to an employer’s after-the-fact
allocation of earnings to prior pay periods is contrary to California law. This proposed
rule would contravene the fundamental purpose of these remedial provisions by
subjecting employees to uncertainty and the risk of extended periods of subminimum
compensation. In addition, wage allocation would confuse the calculation of minimum
wages by embroiling the parties in endless disputes over amorphous accrual accounting

issues that would render the provisions impractical to enforce.

It is in this context that the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit,
has certified the question: “May an employer, consistent with California’s compensation-
requirements, allocate an employee’s commission payments to the pay periods for which

they were earned?” As it applies to the claims at issue in this case, the answer must be

‘GNO 9

II. QUESTION PRESENTED

In the context of compliance with the minimum wage thresholds established by
Wage Order 4-2001, Sections 3(D) and 4(C): “May an employer, consistent with
California’s compensation requirements, allocate an employee’s commission payments to

the pay periods for which they were earned?”



III. STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. STATEMENT OF FACTS

Plaintiff was employed by “Time Warner Cable” (TWC) as an Account Executive
between July 15, 2008 and May 15, 2009. Plaintiff was a commissioned salesperson who
was responsible for selling advertising time on TWC’s various cable channels. (Excerpts
of Record (“ER”) at 121:3-5.)

As a condition of her employment Plaintiff was required to agree to TWC’s
standard commission policy, which she executed on July 15, 2008. Under this
agreement, commissions would be guaranteed for the first three months of her
employment and would thereafter be based on the amount of her “monthly billings”
according to a stated commission schedule. (ER, 121:19-24.)

In addition to these periodic commission payments, Plaintiff received base pay
calculated as $9.61 per hour for 40 hours per week. Plaintiff was not paid additional
wages for hours wqued in excess of eight per day or 40 per week. (ER, 122:15-25.)
Plaintiff was paid just $769.23 in iﬁe majority of her bi-weekly pay periods and worked
at least 45 hours per workweek. (ER, 118:8-22; 170). During weeks in which Plaintiff
worked more than 48 hours and received only her weekly base pay, her hourly
compensation for the week was below $8.00 per hour.

Although Plaintiff regularly worked more than eight hours per day and 40 hours
per week she was never paid premium overtime pay under Labor Code §510. (ER,

122:21-25.) As an affirmative defense to this claim, TWC alleged that Plaintiff was



exempt from overtime throughout her employment under Section 3(D) of the applicable
Wage Order. Based on the current California minimum wage of $8.00 per hour,' Section
3(D) thus mandates an enhanced minimum wage rate of $12.00 per hour. Plaintiff
contended below that her overtime claim was not barred by the exemption because TWC
had failed to pay her sufficient wages to claim the exemption in the majority of

workweeks and pay periods.

Plaintiff received biweekly pay statements generated by TWC. However, these

did not set forth her hours of work.

B. PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

On July 31, 2009, Plaintiff Susan J. Peabody filed a Class Action Complaint in the
Los Angeles Superior Court, captioned as Susan J. Peabody v. Time Warner, Inc. and

Does 1-100, inclusive, Case No. BC418972 (the “Complaint”).

Plaintiff’s Complaint was filed on behalf of a putative class of similarly situated
current and former employees of TWC who had held the position of “Account
Executive.” The Complaint alleges five causes of action for: (1) failure to pay earned
commissions; (2) failure to pay minimum wage for all hours worked pursuant to the

applicable Wage Order and Labor Code § 1194(a); (3) failure to pay earned overtime

' Labor Code § 1182.12 provides that “on or after January 1, 2008, the minimum
wage for all industries shall be not less than eight dollars ($8.00) per hour.”



wages under Labor Code § 510; (4) failure to timely pay wages under Labor Code §§

201-201; (5) failure to provide accurate itemized wage statements under Labor Code

§226(a).2

On September 4, 2009, Defendant TWC removed the action to federal court under
the under the Class Action Fairness (“CAFA”), 28 U.S.C. §1331(d). The case was
initially assigned to Hon. Dean D. Pregerson but was transferred to Hon. Andrew J.

Guillford.?

Defendant TWC stipulated to decide its dispositive motion for summary judgment
prior to determination of class certification,* and filed its motion on July 19, 2010. The
hearing was held on November 1, 2010 and the Court granted TWC’s motion in its
entirety by order of that same date. Final judgment was entered on November 9, 2010

and Plaintiff timely filed notice of the present appeal on November 29, 2010.

The matter was argued and submitted to the Ninth Circuit on July 11, 2012. By
order of August 17,2012 (Docket 32-1), the Ninth Circuit upheld the grant of summary
judgment as to Plaintiff’s claim for unpaid commissions on the following grounds:

Under California law, “contractual terms must be met before an employee
is entitled to a commission.” Steinhebel v. Los Angeles Times Commc’n,
126 Cal.App. 4th 696, 705 (2005). Here, Peabody admitted that under the
terms of her contract, she was not entitled to any commissions until the

2 See Complaint, Clerk’s Transcript (“CT”) at Docket #1, Exhibit A.
3 CT at Docket #15.

* CT, Docket #23.



advertising aired, regardless of when the customer paid. Therefore, TWC
was entitled to pay Peabody under the new commission rate for advertising
that aired after the rate changed, and Peabody’s argument that TWC
retroactively reduced her compensation is unavailing. There is also no
evidence that TWC changed the commission rate in bad faith.’

The Ninth Circuit observed, however, that the remaining issues would be resolved

by the answer to the certified question of California law being referred to this Court.®

IV. SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

California law mandates that minimum wage thresholds must be earned in each
applicable workweek and must be paid in the next applicable pay period. California
Labor Code section 204 mandates the use of a bi;weekly pay period. Sections 221-223
also prohibit employers from deducting wages from one pay period and reallocating them
toward anothéf. Commission wages are not exempted from these requirements. To the
contrary, commissions are specifically identified as just another form of “wages” to

which the protections of the Labor Code apply with full force.

The net result is that employers cannot, consistent with California law, allocate
commission wages paid in one pay period to satisfy minimum obligations which were
due in another, earlier pay period. This conclusion is supported by the plain language of

the minimum wage thresholds contained in Sections 3(D) and 4(B) of the Wage Order. It

> Memorandum of Disposition, Ninth Circuit Docket #32-1, at p. 2.

¢ Memorandum of Disposition, Ninth Circuit Docket #32-1, at p. 2-3.



is also consistent with the avowed remedial purpose of the provisions and with the

DLSE’s own administrative interpretation.

The federal Fair Labor Standards Act (“FLSA”) is substantially less protective and
has no provisions analogous to Labor Code sections 204, 221-223. Thus, it provides no
support for wage averaging or allocation of commissions under California law.
Nevertheless, the result in this case would still be the same under the FLSA, which also
requires that applicable minimum wage requirements must be earned in each workweek
and paid out at each established pay period utilized by the employer. Where, as in this
case, there is no dispute that a bi-weekly pay period was utilized, FLLSA authorities do not
permit the allocation of commissions from above-minimum pay period to below-

minimum pay periods.

This Court should clarify that California law requires the minimum wage
thresholds set forth in Wage Order Section 3(D) and 4(B) must be satisfied within each

workweek and pay period, rather than by allocating commissions from other pay periods.



V. LEGAL ARGUMENT

A, California Law Does Not Permit Employers To Average or Allocate

Wages Earned in Separate Pay Periods To Achieve Compliance With

Minimum Wage Thresholds

1. The California Labor Code and Wage Orders Require Timely and

Consistent Compliance With Minimum Labor Standards.

The California Labor Code and Wage Orders represent a coherent scheme which
establishes minimum rates of straight time and overtime compensation, protects wages
earned from any source from deductions and offsets, and requires that all such earned

wages must be paid promptly and regularly.

For example, Labor Code Section 204(a) requires that “All wages . . . earned by
any person in any employment are due and payable twice during each calendar month, on
days designated in advance as regular paydays.” Labor Code Section 212 prohibits an
employer from paying earned wages in any form other than an immediately negotiable
paycheck. And Sections 221-223 prohibit employers from deducting from amounts due

in future pay periods in order to satisfy current minimum wage or overtime payments.’

This body of law articulates “a clear public policy that is specifically directed at

“the enforcement of California's minimum wage and overtime laws for the benefit of

298

workers.” Moreover, “Because of the economic position of the average worker and, in

" DLSE Man. §50.6.1, sections 1-3.
*Id.



particular, his family, it is essential to the public welfare that he receive his pay’

promptly.”® Thus, “Public policy has long favored the full and prompt payment of

wages due an employee.” '

Thus the remedial wage protections afforded by this integrated statutory scheme
“are to be liberally construed with an eye to promoting such protection” while any

purported exemptions are to be narrowly construed.'!

2. The FLSA Provides No Support For Retroactively Reallocating

Commission Wages Between Workweeks and Pay Periods.

The FLSA and its implementing regulations have no application to the calculation
of the applicable minimum wage rate of an employee under California law. As the Court
explained in Armenta v. Osmose, Inc. “A review of our labor statutes reveals a clear
legislative intent to protect the minimum wage rights of California employees to a greater
extent than federally.”'* In particular, “[f]ederal law provides no analogous provisions to
sections 221-223,” which prohibit the very reallocation advocated by TWC.!* Section

221 provides that “It shall be unlawful for any employer to collect or receive from an

* Gould v. Maryland Sound Industries, Inc., 31 Cal.App.4th 1137, 1147 (1995)
(quoting authority (internal citations and punctuation omitted).

°1d.
" Ramirez v. Yosemite Water Company, Inc., 20 Cal.4™ 785, 794 (1999).

2 Armenta, supra, at 323, 324.

13 Armenta, supra, at 323, 324.



employee any part of wages theretofore paid by said employer to said employee.”
Section 223 provides that “Where any statute or contract requires an employer to
maintain the designated wage scale, it shall be unlawful to secretly pay a lower wage

while purporting to pay the wage designated by statute or by contract.”"*

TWC would have California adopt certain federal regulations pertaining to wage
averaging under the FLSA and incorporate them into the Labor Code and Wage Orders.
However, the Legislature and IWC know how to incorporate select federal regulations
when doing so is consistent with the purpose of California law." The Legislature’s
conscious decision not to incorporate federal regulations elected not to do so in
connection with the averaging or allocation of commission wages.

In any event, fundamental differences between state and federal law preclude the
application of these federal authorities in this case, however. To begin with, Section 7(i)
of the FLSA is restricted to “retail or service establishments.” This definition excludes

inter alia “Advertising agencies,” “Broadcasting companies,” and “Telegraph and cable

14 <[S]ection 223 was enacted to address the problem of employers taking secret
deductions or ‘kickbacks' from their employees. [Citations.]” Amaral v. Cintas Corp. No.
2,163 Cal.App.4™ 1157, 1205 (2008). A violation occurs where the employer pays the
wage required by a statute or contract but secretly deducts or reallocates a portion of the
wage toward some other purpose which amounts to requiring the employee to pay back a
portion of the wages otherwise earned for a particular time period. As explained in
Cintas, the underpayment of wages is generally a secret being kept from “applicable
enforcement authorities,” not from the employees. Id.

1’ See e.g., Wage Order 4-2001, Section 1(A)(1)(e) (“The activities constituting
exempt work . . . shall be construed in the same manner such terms are construed
in the following regulations under the Fair Labor Standards Act . ..”)

10



companies.”'® TWC presented no evidence establishing that it meets the narrow “retail
concept” necessary to qualify for the exemption. (ER, 106:7-11.)

But most significantly, unlike the Labor Code, “the FLSA does not require that an
employef utilize a pay period of any specific duration.""” Thus, in the rare circumstance
when no regular pay period has been established by the parties, a District Court is
permitted under the FLSA to supply its own “reasonable and equitable” method for
determining the appropriate time period over which to allocate commission income.'®

By contrast, such gap-filling judicial discretion cannot apply where, as here: (i) a
two-week pay period is already mandated by statute'”; (ii) there is no dispute that the
parties actually utilized such a two-week pay period; and (iii) TWC adamantly denies that
any commission wages were actually “earned” during the sub-minimum pay periods.

In any event, even if the FLSA were applicable by analogy, it would still lend no
support to any scheme to allocate commissions across workweeks. For example, in the
2005 Maryland District case of Rogers v. Savings First Mortgage, the court held that
under the FLSA “a commission payment can only be allocated over the semi-monthly

pay period in which it is received.” As the Court explained:

' See 29 CFR § 779.317 (providing “a partial list of establishments to which the
retail concept does not apply.”)

'7 Rogers v. Savings First Mortgage, LLC, 362 F.Supp 2d 624 (2005)
'8 See 29 C.F.R. § 778.119 and 778.120.
' Labor Code § 204.

11



The FLSA takes as its standard a single workweek consisting
of seven consecutive days. While there is no requirement that
compensation be paid weekly, the minimum wage provisions
of the FLSA apply on a workweek basis. Thus, in order to
meet the requirements of the FLSA's minimum wage
provisions, an employee compensated wholly or in part on a
commission basis must be paid an amount not less than the
statutory minimum wage for all hours worked in each
workweek without regard to his sales productivity.
Furthermore, this amount must be paid to him free and clear
(i.e. finally and unconditionally) on the payday for that
week.”’

Applying these fundamental FLSA principles the Court rejected the argument that
a loan broker employer could “stretch the allocation of commissions over the average
3321

period of time that Defendants contend it takes to process a loan.

While Defendants are correct that the FLSA does not require
that an employer utilize a pay period of any specific duration .
. . the cases are clear that, once a pay period is established, it
cannot be retroactively modified to escape FLSA liability. >

In Marshall v. Sam Dell’s Dodge Corp., the court addressed a pay plan in which
sales employees received a fixed weekly base pay plus commissions. In those weeks in
which they received only the base pay and worked a large number of hours this resulted

in a sub-minimum wage rate.”® As here, the defendant argued for a rule that “if total

 Rogers v. Savings First Mortgage, LLC, 362 F.Supp.2d 624, 631 (D.Md. 2005)
(internal punctuation and citations omitted.)

2l Rogers, supra, at 630.
22 Rogers, supra, at 631 (emphasis added).

B Marshall v. Sam Dell’s Dodge Corp., 451 F.Supp. 294, 301 (ND N.Y. 1978).

12



payments in any month exceed the minimum wage for the hours worked during that
entire month, they be found in compliance with the Act, even though payments below the
minimum were made in any of the weeks of that month.”* The Court rejected this
proposal as contrary to the requirement that wage allocation across multiple established
pay periods is contrary to the FLSA. In other words, “Having established the week as the
applicable pay period, defendants cannot now argue that any other time period measures
compliance with the Act.” %

Thus, nothing in the FLSA would authorize the éllocation of commissions
between one pay period and another in this case. Moreover, California law (unlike the
FLSA) affirmatively requires the use of a bi-weekly pay period, and this is the pay period
which was utilized in fact by TWC. As a matter of law, therefore, TWC cannot be

permitted to average or allocate commissions from one pay period to another in order to

achieve compliance with California minimum wage thresholds.

3. California Employers Cannot Count Prospective Commissions As

“Wages” Until They Are Earned and Paid

Labor Code Section 200 defines “wages” as “all amounts for labor performed by
employees ... whether the amount is fixed or ascertained by the standard of time, task,

piece, commission basis, or other method of calculation.” “Commission wages are

# Marshall, supra, 451 F.Supp. at 301.

» Marshall, supra, 451 F.Supp. at 302.

13



compensation paid to any person for services rendered in the sale of such employer's

property or services and based proportionately upon the amount or value thereof.”?

“The right of a salesperson or any other person to a commission depends on the

terms of the contract for compensation.””’

Whether a mere expectation has ripened into
an earned “wage” is thus determined by applying “fundamental contract principles to
determine whether a salesperson has, or has not, earned a commission.”*® Only when all
contractual terms have been satisfied can it be said that the resulting “[s]ales

commissions are wages.”>’

In Steinhebel v. LA Times Communications, the plaintiff worked under an
agreement “which specified that commissions were payable only on commissionable
sales, that is, subscriptions that were verified sales and were kept by the customer for at
least 28 days.”® The Court held that money advanced by the employer in expectation of

such commissions did not constitute the payment of a “wage” within the meaning of the

% Labor Code section 204.1.

7 Koehl v. Verio, Inc., 142 Cal.App4th 1313, 1330 (2006), citing Steinhebel v. LA Times
Communications, 126 Cal.App.4th 696, 705 (2005).

2 Koehl v. Verio, Inc., 142 Cal.App4th 1313, 1331 (2006).
® DeLeon v. Verizon Wireless, LLC, 207 Cal.App.4th 800, 808 (2012).

3 Steinhebel v. LA Times Communications, 126 Cal.App.4th 696, 705 (2005)

14



Labor Code. ' As another court has explained, such “commission advances are not

wages.”3 2

In short, as a matter of California law, a monetary advance which is subject to a
future chargeback cannot constitute a “wage” within the meaning of the Labor Code. It
follows therefore that a mere unvested expectation of future commission payments
unaccompanied by any monetary advance certainly cannot constitute a “wage” for

purposes of the Labor Code.

In the present case, Plaintiff also brought a claim against TWC for unpaid wages
on the ground that TWC had unilaterally reduced her agreed-upon commission rate after
she had obtained a vested right to commissions for sales made in January and February of
2009. TWC argued, however, that “The 2008 Plan provided TWE with the express right
to change the terms of the Plan, stating that it ‘is subject to review or change at any time
in accordance with company policy.””*® And that the 2008 Plan also expressly provided
that: “Nothing set forth herein or otherwise shall be construed as a guarantee of any
compensation or a limitation of the Company’s continued right to alter or reset such

compensation or the method by which it is calculated.”**

3! Steinhebel, supra,126 Cal.App.4th at 705.
2 DeLeon, supra, 207 Cal.App.4™ at 8818.
¥ TWC Answering Br. at p. 39 (emphasis added), citing ER at 253, 219:20-220:2.

*TWC Answering Br. at p. 39, citing ER at 253-254,214:25 — 215:11
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Thus under TWC’s commission plan performing labor, booking a sale, and even
obtaining payment from the client do not result in any earned wage. Instead, TWC has
purported to retain the contractual right to change or rescind any prospective commission

payment at-will at any time before it is actually earned and paid.

The Ninth Circuit ultimately agreed with TWC, finding that that “under the terms
of her contract, [Plaintiff] was not entitled to any commissions until the advertising aired,
regardless of when the customer paid.”* As a result, Plaintiff did not earn any
commission “wages” until months after she had performed the labor. Having
successfully argued that commissions are not “wages” prior to their payment by the
employer, TWC cannot be heard to argue that it is nevertheless entitled to apply such
non-wages as a credit toward meeting its minimum wage obligation in prior workweeks.
Thus, as a matter of res judicata, Plaintiff was not paid any commission “wages” within
the definition of the Labor Code during the bi-weekly pay periods in which she received
nothing more than her sub-minimum base pay of $384.62 per week (i.e., $769.23 for the

entire two week period).

4., The Proposed Wage Allocation Rule Would Lead to Unworkable and
Absurd Results.

Any rule which would assess compliance with minimum wage thresholds after-
the-fact by averaging commission income over the entire period “for which” the

commissions were supposedly earned would be utterly unworkable in practice.

% October 17, 2012 Memorandum of Disposition, Ninth Circuit Dkt. #32-1, at p. 2.
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For example, if a commission were payable based on an employee’s total sales
performance over the course of a year the employee could be required to work
uncompensated overtime for that entire time period while earning no income. Only when
the employer has finally awarded year-end commissions and allocated that compensation
to prior workweeks would it be possible to retrospectively determine whether the
employee had received minimum wage or had been properly classified as overtime-

exempt throughout the course of the preceding year.

This backward-looking allocation technique would thus deny employees any
consistent or secure source of subsistence income. It would also allow the employer to
manipulate the employee’s exempt status through its allocation of discretionary
commission payments. Finally, wage allocation would needlessly complicate the

“assessment of minimum wage and exempt status by embroiling the parties and courts in
abstract accounting debates over which payments should be allocated to which prior time

periods.

All of this would frustrate the purposes of the minimum wage thresholds contained
in the Wage Orders — i.e., creating a stable, guaranteed level of subsistence compensation
for the employee. Indeed, “even the better paid salesman with a family would be hard
pressed if he were obliged to suffer a few weeks at less than minimum wages.” 3 And

this is the “precise danger” that statutory minimum labor standards were enacted to guard

% Marshall v. Sam Dell’s Dodge Corp., 451 F.Supp. 294, 302 (ND N.Y. 1978).
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against.>” An employee cannot eat promises of “deferred” commissions. The interest of

the employee is to obtain current wages that he can use for living.

For example, The DLSE-endorsed rule for assessing compliance with the
minimum wage standard of Section 3(D) is that each workweek and pay period must
include minimum wages equal to $12.00 per hour. This is simple, easy to comply with,
and accomplishes the goals of the statute. TWC could have easily complied by simply
increasing its account executive’s hourly wage to $12.00 or by establishing a guaranteed,

non-refundable draw against anticipated future commissions.

Rather than adopt one of these simple measures TWC chose to motivate its sales
force with the prospect of sub-standard compensation in the event that they féiled to
perform. This is exactly what the minimum wage component of the exemption is
intended to prevent. It is thus entirely proper that TWC should be denied the benefit of

the exemption defense during pay periods in which it paid sub-standard wages.

¥ Ibid.
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B. TWC Cannot Allocate or Average Commissions to Avoid Liability For
The Claims In This Case.

1. The Minimum Wage Rate Specified By Wage Order Section 4(B) ‘Must

Be Earned In Every Workweeks and Paid In Each Pay Periods

Under the California Labor Code employers must meet their statutory wage
obligations through the straight-forward payment of money wages, which are accrued
over the shortest time period applicable, and paid out no less frequently than each bi-
weekly pay day. By contrast, employers may not satisfy minimum compensation
standards by redistributing, reallocating, or “averaging” wages across time periods — e.g.,
through techniques that might tend to disfavor the employee, result in delayed payment,

or be subject to manipulation through accounting gimmickry.

For example, in the 2005 California Appellate decision in Armenta v. Osmose, 38

the plaintiffs were employed as lineman and “were paid hourly wages ranging between
$9.08 to $20” for time designated as “productive.” However, they were paid no further
compensation for the hours they worked in excess of these “productive” hours.”® As the

Armenta Court explained, it would be inconsistent with the statutory prohibition against

38 Armenta v. Osmose, Inc., 135 Cal.App.4™ 314 (2005).

3 Armenta, supra, 135 Cal.App.4™ at 462-63. “Productive time” included all time spent
directly maintaining poles and lines. “Non-productive” time included “taking the truck to
be serviced and waiting for it, washing it, cleaning it out at the end of the day, discarding
trash at the end of the day, repairing tools needed for field work, or for their time driving
to and from the job site.” (Id. at 318.)
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making deductions or offsets from earned wages to permit “wage averaging” for purposes

of minimum wage compliance.

In particular, Labor Code “Sections 221, 222, and 223 articulate the principal that
all hours must be paid at the statutory or agreed rate and no part of this rate may be used
as a credit against a minimum wage obligation.” * The minimum hourly threshold must
be satisfied for each hour worked in the pay period. In other words, wages paid for
“productive” hours may not be reallocated to “non-productive” hours when assessing
whether the minimum wage rate had been met for such “non-productive” work time.*!
This same rule against reallocation of wages has also been applied to compensation paid

pursuant to piece-rate or sales commission plans.?

TWC argues that commissions are somehow special and must be treated
differently from other wages when measuring compliance with a minimum wage
threshold. But the Labor Code authorizes no such special treatment.

“Commissions” are designated as merely one of many variants of “wages” which

40 Armenta, supra, at 323, 324.
4lId

2 Ontiveros v. Zamora, 2009 WL 425962 at WL *2 (E.D. Cal. 2009) (no reallocation of
wages permitted as to a pay plan in which “a mechanic would be paid a fixed amount per
type of automotive repair he completed based on the estimated time it would take to
perform that repair, regardless of how much time it actually took him.”); Cardenas v.
McLane Foodservices, Inc., 796 F.Supp.2d 1246, 1253 (2011) (no reallocation of wages
permitted as to pay plan “based on the number of cases of product delivered, the number
of miles driven on a delivery route, and the number of delivery stops.”); Balasanyan v.
Nordstrom, Inc., 2012 WL 6675169, WL * 1 (S.D. Cal. 2012) (no reallocation of
commission wages permitted as between selling and non-selling hours).
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are subject to all of the general provisions of Labor Code §§ 200-243 governing

the timely payment of wages." |

Likewise “commissions” are specifically identified in Section 4(B) of the
Wage Order as a form of compensation which may only be credited toward an
employer’s minimum wage obligation in the same pay period in which they are
actually paid. Section 4(B) provides: “Every employer shall pay to each employee,
on the established payday for the period involved, not less than the applicable
minimum wage for all hours worked in the payroll period, whether the

remuneration is measured by time, piece, commission, or otherwise.” #

There is simply no room to argue that the Wage Order or Labor Code may
be interpreted as allowing employers to satisfy minimum wage standards with a
mere unvested expectation of future commission, or an ex post facto reallocation of

such future payments.

3 See Labor Code § 200 (“As used in this article: (a) "Wages" includes all
amounts for labor performed by employees of every description, whether the
amount is fixed or ascertained by the standard of time, task, piece, commission
basis, or other method of calculation.”) (emphasis added).

“ Wage Order 4-2001, Section 4(B) (Emphasis added).
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2. The Minimum Wage Rate Specified By Section 3(D) Must Be Earned

In Each Workweek and Paid in Each Pay Period for Which The

Exemption Defense Is Claimed. |

a. Full Payment of Required Wages Within Each Pay Period Is

Consistent With the Remedial Nature of California’s Overtime

Obligation.

Paying employees on a commissioned basis has obvious benefits for an employer -
- i.e., no matter how many hours an employee works he must actually succeed in
generating sales in order to receive compensation. The flip-side of this bargain, however,
is that commissions (especially for big ticket items) are often unpredictable and variable.
This may present a special hardship for commissioned sales employees who may endure
extended “cold streaks” without significant commission income. During these periods it
may be difficult for the employee to maintain a sufficient baseline compensation fo
support his or her family.

“The Legislature has recognized the employee's dependence on wages for the
necessities of life and has, consequently, disapproved of unanticipated or unpredictable

45 Thus, Section

deductions because they impose a special hardship on employees.
3(D)’s minimum wage requirement mitigates the unpredictable nature of commission

income by requiring the employer, as a precondition for avoiding premium overtime pay,

to guarantee a consistent level of subsistence compensation.

* Hudgins v. Neiman Marcus Group, Inc., 34 Cal.App.4™ 1109, 1119 (1995), citing
Kerr’s Catering v. Dept. of Indus. Rel., 57 Cal.2d 319, 329 (1962).
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Achieving minimum wage thresholds by averaging wages across established pay
periods is prohibited under both the Labor Code and FLSA. As the U.S. Supreme Court
has noted, “Employees receiving less than the statutory minimum are not likely to have
sufficient resources to maintain their well-being and efficiency until such sums are paid
at a future date.”*® This is especially true in light of TWC’s contention that it reserves the
power to reduce or cancel commission payments at any time before they are paid. TWC
can hardly take credit for a commission which it claims was not yet “earned,” Vested, or
accrued during the sub-minimum pay periods.

Here, for example, TWC could easily have ensured compliance by simply
guaranteeing its employees $12.00 in hourly compensation apart from any earned
commissions. Many employers provide such minimum base compensation as a
refundable “advance” or “draw” against future commissions. Instead, TWC elected to
keep its sales force motivated by providing a guaranteed base rate of pay that was well
below the guaranteed hourly rate required by Section 3(D). Nothing in the statutory

scheme can be interpreted as encouraging this policy.

b. Full Payment of Required Wages Within Each Pay Period Is

Consistent with Related Provisions of The California Labor

Code.

“ Brooklyn Sav. Bank v. O’Neil, 324 U.S. 697, 707-08 (1945).
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Labor Code Section 204(a) requires that “All wages . . . earned by any person in
any employment are due and payable twice during each calendar month, on days
designated in advance as regular paydays.” Labor Code Section 212 prohibits an
employer from paying earned wages in any form other than an immediately negotiable
paycheck. And Sections 221-223 prohibit employers from deducting from amounts due
in future pay periods in order to satisfy current minimum wage or overtime payments.
By necessity, the 150% of minimum wage threshold required under Wage Order 3(D)

must therefore be “paid in each pay period.”"’

In Armenta v. Osmose, the Court rejected the proposition that the payment of sub-
minimum compensation for certain hours of work could be cured by reallocating the
wages paid for more highly compensated hours. As the Court explained, this was
contrary to California law because Labor Code “Sections 221, 222, and 223 articulate the
principal that all hours must be paid at the statutory or agreed rate and no part of this rate

. . . . . . 4
may be used as a credit against a minimum wage obligation.” 8

This same analysis is fully applicable to the derivative minimum wage threshold
of Wage Order Section 3(D). Indeed, by expressly referencing and incorporating the
minimum wage scheme described in Section 4(B) of the same Wage Order the IWC

presumably intended to incorporate the methods and standards used for calculating the

* DLSE Man. §50.6.1, sections 1-3.

® Armenta, supra, at 323, 324.
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base minimum wage."’

By the same token, the incorporation of a multiple of the standard minimum wage
rate by Section 3(A) evinces a purpose to ensure minimum compensation for “each hour
worked,” and is equally incompatible with any attempt to “average” compensation over
time periods greater than one hour.

Moreover, wage averaging and reallocation have also been rejected as a means to
compensate overtime hours. For example, under California law, amounts paid as a fixed
weekly salary are deemed as compensation for only 40 hours of work per week.’ 0
Employer therefore may not reallocate any portion of such salary payments toward their
statutory obligation to pay premium compensation for overtime hours.’’

Similarly, as premium overtime pay under Labor Code section 510 is calculated
based on qualified hours worked within a given workday or workweek, the employee’s
status as exempt or non-exempt must be independently determinable on a daily or weekly

basis. The employer must therefore bear the burden of establishing all elements of an

® Rowe v. New Hampshire Motor Transport Ass'n, 552 U.S. 364, 370 (2008)
(“when judicial interpretations have settled the meaning of an existing statutory
provision, repetition of the same language in a new statute indicates, as a general
matter, the intent to incorporate its judicial interpretations as well.”)

50 Labor Code Section 515(d) (providing that weekly salary is only deemed to
compensate for 40 hours per week for purposes of calculating overtime pay); Skyline
Homes v. Department of Industrial Relations, 165 Cal.App.3d 239, 250 (1985) (rejecting
employer’s allocation of fixed salary across all hours worked in “fluctuating workweek”
for purposes of calculating premium overtime compensation due); accord Arechiga v.
Dolores Press, Inc., 192 Cal.App. 4" 567 (2011) (Weekly salary may not be allocated to
overtime hours in the absence of “explicit mutual wage agreement”).

STd.
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applicable exemption at least within each workweek. For exafnple, in Gomez v. Lincare,
the California Court of Appeal held that the employer was required to establish the
applicable Wage Order overtime exemption in that case “on each and every workday” on
which the exemption was being claimed.” In the 2011 opinion in Marlo v. UPS, the
Ninth Circuit held that California’s white collar overtime exemptions were properly
determined on a “week-by-week” basis.>

In short, every aspect of the No California court, however, has ever suggested that
the determination of an employee’s exempt status may be deferred for weeks or months

in order to await the calculation and allocation of contingent future payments.

a. Full Payment of Required Wages Within Each Pay Period Is

Consistent With the Persuasive Interpretation of the Division of

Labor Standards Enforcement.

The Industrial Welfare Commission (IWC) is empowered to issue Wage Orders
regulating wages, work hours, and working conditions with respect to various industries

and occupations.’® The Department of Industrial Relations, Division of Labor Standards
p Y

2 Gomez v. Lincare, 173 Cal.App.4th 508, 518 (2009) (“Lincare was required to
present evidence showing that each plaintiff drove a vehicle containing hazardous
materials for some period of time on each and every workday.”)

3 Marlo v. UPS, 639 F.3d 942, 948 (9™ Cir. 2011) (“Nor, contrary to Marlo's

assertion, did the district court err in requiring a week-by-week determination of
“exempt status.”)

>* See Labor Code §§ 70-74, 1173, 1178, 1178.5, 1182.
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Enforcement (“DLSE”), is the agency charged with enforcing California’s labor laws,
including the IWC wage orders. > The DLSE has consistently maintained a long-
standing interpretation of the Section 3(D) Commissioned Sales Exemption, which is
published at Secﬁon 50.6.1 of its Enforcement Manual.’® According to the DLSE’s
interpretive guidance, the required wage rate of 1.5 times the minimum wage necessary
to invoke the exemption must accrue “for each hour worked during the pay period,” and

“must be satisfied in each workweek and paid in each pay period.””’

When construing a legislative enactment the DLSE’s interpretation is entitled to

“consideration and respect.”>®

Moreover, “A court is more likely to defer to an agency's
interpretation of its own regulation than to its interpretation of a statute, since the agency
is likely to be intimately familiar with regulations it authored and sensitive to the
practical implications of one interpretation over another.””® The Section 3(D) exemption

is not a legislative enactment but purely a creature of the IWC’s exercise of its own

statutory and constitutional authority to regulate conditions of employment through

% See Labor Code §§ 61, 95, 98-98.8, 1193.5.
36 Van Vleck Decl., Exh. F.
" DLSE Man. §50.6.1, sections 1-3 (emphasis added).

8 Murphy v. Kenneth Cole Productions, Inc., 40 Cal.4™ 1094, 1105, n. 7 (2007), citing
Yamaha Corp. of America v. State Bd. Of Equalization, 19 Cal.4™ 1, 7-8 (1998).

* Yamaha Corp. of America v. State Bd. Of Equalization, 19 Cal.4™ 1, 12-13 (1998).
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appropriate Wage Orders.® When the Legislature codified California’s daily overtime
requirement in 1999, it also specifically codiﬁedvthe IWC’s authority to “review, retain,
or eliminate any [preexisting] exemption.”® As this Court explained in Lujan v.
Southern California Edison, deference to the administrative interpretation of the DLSE
Manual is thus appropriate as an exercise of the IWC’s authority to interpret its own

provisions.®?

In any event, the DLSE interpretation is in accord with the plain language of the
provision, the manifest purpose of the minimum wage threshold at issue, and the public
policies animating the right to overtime. As a result, the interpretation of the DLSE

manual should be independently adopted by this court.

3. TWC’s Deficient Wage Statements Cannot Be Cured By Reallocating

Commission Pavments.

Labor Code section 226(a) requires employers to provide accurate itemized

pay statements that include specific categories of information for the benefit of

% See Martinez v. Combs, 49 Cal.4™ 35, 64 (2010) (“The Legislature has delegated to the
IWC broad authority over wages, hours and working conditions.”)

§' Labor Code section 515(b)(2).

82 See Lujan v. Southern California Edison, 96 Cal.App.4th 1200, 1211-1212 (2002)
(“We agree with the trial court that we should defer to respondent's interpretation of its
wage order in calculating the amount of ‘regular pay.””), citing Yamaha Corp. of
America, supra, 19 Cal.4"™ at 12-13; See also Auer v. Robinson, 519 U.S. 452 (1997)
(“Because the salary-basis test is a creature of the Secretary's own regulations, his
interpretation of it is ... controlling unless ‘plainly erroneous or inconsistent with the
regulation.””)
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employees.

For example, Section 226(a)(2) requires wage statements listing “total hours
worked by the employee, except for any employee whose compensation is solely
based on a salary and who is exempt from payment of overtime . . .”® Plaintiff
was paid primarily by commissions and thus was not paid “solely based on a
salary.” Under the unambiguous language of the statute she was therefore legally

entitled to receive biweekly statements of her “total hours worked.”®

TWC advocates an interpretation in which the phrase “whose compensation
is solely based on salary” is disregarded so that a finding of exempt status alone
will obviate the need to track and report hours worked. This construction is contrary
to the plain language of the statute. It also violates the cardinal rule of statutory
construction directing courts to “accord[] significance, if possible, to every word, phrase

and sentence in pursuance of the legislative purpose” and that a “construction making

some words surplusage is to be avoided.”®

Moreover, TWC’s also violates the manifest purpose of the requirement to

%3 Labor Code Section 226(a)(2).

5 Wage Order 4-2001, Section 7(A)(5) mandates that TWC “shall keep accurate
information” regarding Plaintiff’s “Total hours worked in the payroll period and
applicable rates of pay.”

% Dyna-Med, Inc. v. Fair Employment & Housing Com., 43 Cal.3d 1379, 1386-1387
(1987).
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record and report such wage and hour data — namely, to provide employees and
enforcement agencies with the information necessary to ascertain whether required

wages have been fully paid in accordance with law. %

The present case is a perfect illustration. TWC is claiming that it need not
provide a record of “hours worked” to Plaintiff because she is exempt from
overtime under Section 3(D). This exemption, however, is necessarily based on
TEC’s calculation of the number of “hours worked” — i.e., whether her
compensation divided by her hours worked is equal to 150% of the minimum
wage. Under this Catch-22 scenario, Plaintiff would not be entitled to a record of
her hours worked because she is exempt, but could not disprove the exemption

without a record of her hours worked.

The plain language of the statute anticipates and negates this absurdity. If an
employer wishes to assert that a commissioned employee (who by definition is not
paid on salary alone), qualifies for the Section 3(D) exemption, it cannot also
refuse to provide the record of “hours worked” necessary to establish the

exemption.

% Jaimez v. Daios, 181 Cal.App.4™ 1286, 1306 (2010), citing Wang v. Chinese
Daily News, Inc., 435 F.Supp.2d 1042, 1050 (C.D. Cal. 2006) (“The purpose of the
requirement [of Section 226(a)] is that employees need not engage in the discovery
and mathematical computations to analyze the very information that California law
- requires.”).
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4. TWC Cannot Avoid “Waiting Time” Penalties By Allocating

Commission Payments.

The term “willful” within the meaning of Section 203 merely means “the
employer intentionally failed or refused to perform an action which was required to

be done.”®’

TWC argues however that any claim for late payment penalties is
negated because Plaintiff supposedly submitted no evidence of “willful” non-
payment. But the whole premise of Defendant’s motion for summary judgment
and the present appeal is that TWC paid Plaintiff exactly as it intended in
accordance with its standard policies. Thus, to the extent that Plaintiff’s claims

for non-payment of minimum wage and overtime are viable, her derivative claim

for late payment penalties necessarily survives as well.

VI. CONCLUSION

California law is clear in mandating that minimum wage thresholds must be
earned in each applicable workweek and must be paid in the next applicable pay period.
California Labor Code section 204 mandates the use of a bi-weekly pay period. Sections
221-223 also prohibit employers from deducting wages from one pay period and
reallocating them toward another. Commission wages are not exempted from these

requirements. Thus, the Court should answer “No” to the certified question of whether

 Road Sprinkler Fitters Local Union No. 669 v. G&G Fire Sprinklers, Inc., 102
Cal. App. 4th 765, 781 (2002).
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an employer may reallocate commission wages from above-minimum pay periods to
below-minimum pay periods in order to comply with the minimum wage thresholds of

Wage Order Sections 3(D) and 4(B).

Dated: January 7, 2013

VAN VLECK TURNER & ZALLER, LLP
Brian Van Vleck

Dani%
N %

Brian F. Van Vleck
Attorneys for Named Plaintiff
Susan J. Peabody and the Putative Class

32



CERTFICATION OF WORD COUNT

Pursuant to California Rules of Appellate Procedure, Rule 8.204 (¢)(1), counsel hereby
certifies that the present brief contains 7,495 words, including footnotes and excluding
tables of content and authority.

Dated: January 7, 2013

VAN VLECK TURNER & ZALLER, LLP
Brian Van Vlieck
Daniel J. Turner

i A

Brian F. Van Vleck
Attorneys for Named Plaintiff
Susan J. Peabody and the Putative Class




CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I am employed in the County of Los Angeles, State of California. I
am over the age of 18 and not a party to the within action; my business
address is: 6310 San Vicente Blvd., Suite 430, Los Angeles, California
90048 . On January 7. 2013, I served the foregoing document described as:
PETITIONER’S BRIEF ON THE MERITS on the interested party
below, using the following means:

J. Scott Carr

Wargo & French LLP
999 Peachtree Street, NE
26th Floor

Atlanta, Georgia 30309

BY UNITED STATES MAIL I enclosed the document in a sealed
envelope or package addressed to the respective address of the party stated
above and placed the envelope for collection and Vmailing, following our
ordinary business practices. I am readily familiar with the firm’s practice of
collection and processing correspondence for mailing. On the same day
that correspondence is placed for collection and mailing, it is deposited in
the ordinary course of business with the United States Postal Service, in a

sealed envelope with postage fully prepaid at Los Angeles, California.

X (STATE) I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State

of California that the foregoing is true and correct.

Executed on January 7, 2013, at Los Angeles, California.

Jeremy Rogers
[Print Name] [Signature




