
We will get started in a few minutes.  
Please make sure you are on mute.

If you have any technical issues, please e-
mail kelly.ragsdale@jud.ca.gov.  

Welcome to the 
25th Annual AB 1058 

Child Support Training 
Conference
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Housekeeping
• Zoom Speaker View
• Rename yourself with your full name 

and court
• One link for all sessions unless 

concurrent session
• Evaluation links
• Conference materials
• Recorded sessions
• Tech issues contact William Cervantes 

or Kelly Ragsdale in the chat
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Plenary Session: 
Judicial Council Updates

Anna L. Maves
Program Manager/Supervising Attorney

25th Annual AB 1058 Child Support
Training Conference
October 13, 2021



Congratulations on the 
25th Anniversary of the 

AB 1058 Program!
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How long have 
you been a 

part of the AB 
1058 Family?

LINK IN THE CHAT!



In Memoriam of Commissioner 
Connie Jimenez



In Memoriam of Commissioner 
Randy Magnuson



Remote
Hearings

• SB 241 – 2021 
California Court 
Efficiency Act

• AB 177  - Evaluation 
om the Use of 
Technology



How is your court 
conducting AB 1058 
hearings? LINK IN THE CHAT!

How is your court 
providing self-help and 
FLF services? LINK IN THE CHAT!



Statewide Remote Services 
Data

• 54 courts are 
conducting 
proceedings 
remotely

• 3 courts 
conducting 
proceedings  in-
person only

• 1 court did not 
report

• 33 courts 
allow 
e-filing

• 5 courts 
allow fax 
filing

• 20 courts do 
not have e-
filing
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56%33%

11%

November 2020

Both remote and in-person
Remote only
In-person only

63%

32%

5%
March 2021

Both remote and in-person
Remote only
In-person only

Child Support Commissioner 
Remote Hearing Data

• 51 courts 
hear IV-D 
cases 
remotely

• 6 in-
person 
only

• 54 courts 
hear IV-D 
cases 
remotely

• 3 in-
person 
only
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Self-Help Center Remote Services
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57%

43%

Before March 2020

96%

4%

As of June 30, 2020

Percentage of Courts 
Providing Services by Phone

69%

31%

Before March 2020

85%

15%

As of June 30, 2020

Percentage of Courts 
Providing Services by Email

Data from Impact of Self-Help Center Expansion in California Courts, January 2021 report to the Legislature. 



Quadrennial Review of 
Child Support Guidelines

45 Code of Federal 
Regulations § 302.56 

States must review
guidelines every 

4 years

Ensure guidelines 
result in appropriate 
child support orders

Limit deviations 
from the 
guidelines

Ensure guidelines 
are in compliance 
with federal law

FC § 4054: JCC must review and make recs to Legislature



Review of Statewide Uniform Child 
Support Guidelines 2021

The 2022 report to the Legislature will include:
• New data analysis required by federal regulations. 

• Data from focus groups with:

 Calaveras
 Fresno
 Kings
 Los Angeles

 Merced
 Orange
 San Diego
 Santa Clara

 Santa Cruz
 Stanislaus
 Yolo

• Case data from 11 representational courts.

Parents DCSS/LCSAs Judicial Officers FLFs



Focus of the Child Support 
Guideline Study

• Low Income Families
• The K Factor in the formula

• Low Income Adjustment
• Does it meet the basic subsistence 

needs?
• Whether the annual adjustment is 

sufficient to provide adequate 
protection

CS= K [HN–(H%) (TN)]



LIA Threshold and Minimum Wage History
Year​ LIA​ LIA % increase​ Minimum Wage​ Minimum Wage 

% increase​
March 2013​ $1533​ 2.15%​ $8​

2014​ $1556​ 1.48%​ $9​ 12.5%​
2015​ $1584​ 1.77%​ $9​
2016​ $1607​ 1.43%​ $10​ 11.1%​
2017​ $1644​ 2.25%​ $10*​
2018​ $1692​ 2.84%​ $10.50*​ 5%​
2019​ $1755​ 3.59%​ $11*​ 4.54%​
2020​ $1807​ 2.88%​ $12*​ 8.33%​
2021​ $1837 1.63% $13*​ 7.69%​
2022​ - - $14*​ 7.14%​
2023​ - - $15​ 6.67%​



LIA example for 2021
2021 minimum wage* = $13/hour    net income** = $1,912      gross income** = $2,253

The LIA operates to provide an adjustment to child support for parents 
whose income is under the threshold adjusted annually based on the 
CPI.  For 2021, the figure is $1,837. The closer the net income is to the 
threshold, the lower the adjustment.  

2021 LIA:
 CS – [CS x 1837 - net income]

1837
 Guideline child support = $478

NO LIA application because net income exceeds LIA
*25 or fewer employees
**Net and gross income based on full time minimum wage, Single filing status, no dependents (presumed income order)



Looking to the Future
• Build on past successes
• Continue strong 

relationships with 
program partners

• Adapt to meet needs of 
CA families

• Ensure accurate child 
support calculations

• Acknowledge implicit 
bias 
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